Unpopular Opinions Tag

Stephanie @ Stephanie’s Book Reviews did this tag last month and since I sometimes have unpopular opinions and don’t mind sharing them, I thought this tag would be great to do. Covers are linked to Goodreads.

A book or series that everyone seemed to hate but you loved:

Of the 76 books I have marked as “beloved books” on Goodreads, this one has the lowest rating at 3.59. I came across this one years ago while browsing for a book to read. Franny Billingsley’s Chime is like no other book I’ve ever read. Her writing reminds me a little of Juliet Marillier. The protagonist Briony isn’t very fond of herself and I found her really interesting all around.

A love triangle that didn’t end the way you wanted it to:

(Spoilers for the Inkworld series)


Inkheart by Cornelia Funke is one of my favorite children’s books and even though Meggie’s relationship with Farid didn’t develop into what I first thought while reading the first two books, I still love this series.

A book genre you hardly ever reach for:


Contemporary. I always hear how wonderful a certain contemporary book is and I get really excited before reminding myself, I’m not a big fan of the genre in general. Still, I’m tempting by this one because of the reviews. I might check it out from the library.

A popular or beloved character you did not like:

Tessa Gray from the Infernal Devices series. I hate love triangle, like, really really hate them. And this last book tried my patience, I did not understand how Tessa could be so fickle and I just wanted her to make up her mind.

A popular author you just can’t enjoy:


I’ve read two books by Gena Showalter and disliked them both. A lot. So, I probably won’t pick up any more of her books.

A popular trope you’re tired of:

There are so many! I’m going to go with the I’m-the-only-strong-woman-around-in-fact-I-seem-to-be-the-only-woman-around trope. I see this all the time, especially in fantasy books where the protagonist is this great character, but she seems to be the only female left in the world. This is one of the reasons I love His Fair Assassin trilogy by Robin LaFevers, females abound!

A popular series you have no interest in reading:

I once tried to fool myself into thinking I might pick up this series since so many people seem to love them. I was lying to myself. I’m never going to pick them up.

A TV show/movie that was better than the book:



The Princess Bride. I’ve read the book and it was good, but the movie is one of my absolute favorites.

If you haven’t done this tag and would like to, then I tag you. Feel free to leave a link to your own post, so I can check out your answers!

30 thoughts on “Unpopular Opinions Tag

  1. I have to say, I think The Princess Bride movie and book are on equal footing for me. I think they’re both amazing. I love the extra bits in the book that we don’t get to see in the movie, but the movie is definitely one of the most successful adaptations I have ever seen.

    Also, it’s lovely to see someone mention Chime positively. I’ve had it on my shelf for a while and haven’t yet gotten around to it, in part because of the reviews I was seeing on goodreads.

    Liked by 1 person

    • For me, I think it’s the actors that make it one of the best movies I’ve seen. I think what makes it such a great adaptation is that William Goldman actually wrote the screenplay for it.

      Chime is so very underrated and it’s different from a lot of books, so that might contribute to the lack of “positive” reviews. I hope you give it a chance soon!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I notice that I reach for contemporary especially YA contemporary only when I’m really sad and need a quick pick-me-up. Otherwise, I don’t really reach for it. The Fill-In Boyfriend is really cute! Nothing more than that though…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel the same way about Stephanie Perkins. The books seem like sweet romances that don’t have anything else going on. It is rare that I can read just straight up romance without another element thrown in. There is a Stephanie Perkins book sitting on my shelf though, so who knows, maybe someday, but if not, I am okay with that.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You sounds just like me. I love romance, but I need something else to be happening while it is going on. I used to love a good contemporary read, I read several Sarah Dessen books years ago, but then I needed something different and I really haven’t looked back.

      Like

  4. I’m still mad as hell about that romance from the Inkheart trilogy. It surprised me, sure, but it. did. not. compute. with. my. brain. or. feelings.
    I still want to try to read the Infernal Devices even though I gave up in the first book.
    Y’know, I probably never expected myself to pick up Anna and the French Kiss either because of the title and I generally don’t read fluffy romances but I think I’ll give it a chance.

    Like

    • I agree, though because the “romance” wasn’t really a main feature of the books, I think it’s pretty forgivable. I actually think I liked the first book of the Infernel Devices more than the last two and the final one just made a little mad. I think the only way I’ll probably read Anna and the French Kiss is if it conveniently falls into my lap, like I see it on sale for a $1 or some stranger hands it to me randomly.

      Like

  5. I really liked Chime! I rated it three stars, but it’s one of those books that have stuck with me because of how interesting it was (now I’m surprised that I didn’t rate it higher). I read a library copy of it, but I recently won a giveaway with the book included. I’m excited to reread it!

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: June ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  7. These are some great answers to this tag, Alicia!

    I disliked Tessa, too. I thought the ending of this series was awful. I don’t *necessarily* hate love triangles but I’m really not a fan of characters who are indecisive and just lead others on.

    After reading your post, I moved my copy of Chime to my “must re-read soon” pile because I remember liking the book and the general mood, but not the particulars.

    And I only found out that The Princess Bride was also a book recently (oops) and I haven’t read it yet – but the movie is fabulous. I recently re-watched it with my husband and he liked it a lot, too!

    Liked by 1 person

Share your thoughts here!

