The Friday 56, #67: All Fall Down

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Also be sure to leave me a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

“Once I break the barrier, I know there will be no going back, no good excuses. It should bother me, I’m certain. If I had good sense. If I had the proper amount of fear and respect for authority. But I’m not thinking about Ms. Chancellor and her warnings; I’m too busy thinking about Lila and her smirk.”

I just finished Ally Carter’s All Fall Down and have a few mixed feelings about it. I’m a huge fan of her Gallagher Girls series, so I think I went into this one expecting a lot. I will be posting a review on Friday morning, and since I usually post this on Thursday night, I’ll be sure to add a link to this post when I do. You can view my review here if you are interested.

From Goodreads:

“This exciting new series from NEW YORK TIMES bestselling author Ally Carter focuses on Grace, who can best be described as a daredevil, an Army brat, and a rebel. She is also the only granddaughter of perhaps the most powerful ambassador in the world, and Grace has spent every summer of her childhood running across the roofs of Embassy Row.

Now, at age sixteen, she’s come back to stay–in order to solve the mystery of her mother’s death. In the process, she uncovers an international conspiracy of unsettling proportions, and must choose her friends and watch her foes carefully if she and the world are to be saved.”

28 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #67: All Fall Down

        • I stopped after the first book 😦 and I really don’t have any interest in continuing. I just have so many other books I want to read. What do the other books have that the first one lacked?

          Liked by 1 person

        • Where do I start? I might gush just a little. The first book gives you a taste of everything that’s amazing about the series, especially the female relationships, but in the other books Cammie and her friends really grow and the mystery of her missing father is revealed and there’s this moment when all the fun sort of disappears for the characters and they realize that the life they’re living is not a game and one character in particular goes through something so horrific, something you never anticipated the books would go from reading the first one. And I’m getting all emotional and babbling, so I’ll stop.

          Liked by 1 person

        • Oh wow that sounds intense. I always thought the rest of the books would stay light and fluffy like in the first book but I guess not. Idk maybe I just feel like the voice of the characters and writing felt a little too juvenile for me which is weird cause I have no problem enjoying middle grade and children’s novels

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

