Angelfall by Susan Ee

Angelfall by Susan Ee

Title: Angelfall
Author: Susan Ee
Series: Penryn & the End of Days, #1

When the angels descended upon the earth, they brought with them death and destruction. Penryn struggles to keep her little sister, Paige, and their mother alive in a world gone crazy. When she inadvertently gets tangled in a fight between two angels, Penryn watches helplessly as one of them kidnaps her sister. Left with an injured angel and no way to find Paige, Penryn is forced to save him. Now, in order to rescue her sister, Penryn must put her trust in a foe that has already wrecked havoc on her world.

“I shove the horrible, screaming images in my head into the dark, silent place in my mind that is getting deeper and more crowded each day. One day soon, the things I stuff in there will burst out and infect the rest of me.”

Susan Ee’s Angelfall was a surprising favorite of mine back when I first read it a couple of years ago and for whatever reason, I haven’t been able to return to this world. Now with the recent release of the third book in the Penryn & the End of Days series, I simply had to reread this one. One of my favorite things about this book is its ability to make me laugh and at the same time terrify me. Set in a post-apocalyptic world, where death can literally fall from the sky, Angelfall still manages to be fun. This would be an impossible feat if it were not for the two main characters.

Penryn Young has had a difficult life. With a mother whose mental illness manifests itself through paranoia, Penryn grew up learning how to defend herself and knows when push comes to shove, the only person she can rely on is herself. Raffe, the angel at odds with his own people, is not how Penryn imagines the malevolent beings, bent on destroying humanity, would be. Sarcastic and arrogant, Raffe is far too human for Penryn’s liking. The first time these two interact had me laughing hysterically, despite the fact they were trying to kill one another at the time.

Angelfall is a fast-paced post-apocalyptic novel full of cheeky characters and frightening antagonists. Penryn is one of the most fearless protagonists I’ve ever come across and I cannot wait to read the final two book in the series.

Rating: 5/5

★★★★★

14 thoughts on “Angelfall by Susan Ee

  1. I’m glad you enjoyed this book. I really liked it, too! It really was fun. I loved Penryn and Raffe’s relationship. I love their little bickering. When I first started reading it, I couldn’t read them at night. It scared me so much — especially when Penryn finds her sister *shudders*. I have to reread it before reading End of Days. Great review!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m really glad to find another person who loves this book. I’ve been a little on the fence about giving it a try but I keep seeing people loving it so I might just have to move it over to my TBR.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Aw, so much chemistry between Penryn and Raffe. Sarcastic characters are the best so Raffe is sure to be fun to read about.
    I wonder if the series name is literal. That would suck after reading all the books. First I need to read Angelfall already.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: The Re-Read Challenge: May Recap | A Kernel of Nonsense

  5. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: May ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. Pingback: The Friday 56, #68: World After | A Kernel of Nonsense

  7. Pingback: The Friday 56, #72: End of Days | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

