Exploring My Bookshelves, #5: Books for My Kids

bookshelves

Exploring My Bookshelves is an original meme hosted by Addlepates and Book Nerds. This is a fun little meme that gives me a chance to share with you the amazing books I have on my shelves. If you do your own post, please feel free to leave a link in the comments and I’ll visit you back.

This week’s topic is books you want to keep for your kids (or have kept). Now when I was a little girl, I never had the benefit of having a family member who liked to read, so I sort of discovered books and storytelling on my own. I do have nephews and a niece who I’m very close to and I always let them know how great reading is. The oldest, who is ten, is just about ready for Harry Potter. I’ve been telling him for years that I want him to read the first book and last year he gave me permission to gift it to him this Christmas. Seriously, he gave me permission. And if I ever have children, Harry Potter is a definite must for us. I’d love to read the series to my kid.

What about you? What book/series would you share with your kids? Or what are some of your favorite books that you have shared with your children? Did they love them as much as you?

17 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves, #5: Books for My Kids

  1. I would recommend the Main Street series by Ann M. Martin to my future children and to your niece depending where she is in reading. I would definitely recommend to my children the Harry Potter series, and also the Little House on Prairie series. That series was probably in my top 5 series I read when I was younger, because it felt like I was actually living in that time period with the characters. When I do have children someday, I definitely want to give them the freedom to make their own decisions to which books they want to read. I know when they are younger I’ll guide them a bit more, but as they grow older I want to give them the freedom that my parents have given to me to read what I want and deciding if it’s something for me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • My niece is still a little young, but she is quite the reader already, so I better check out these books for future reference. That’s an excellent way to approach reading with your children. Share with them the love of reading but don’t limit them.

      Like

  2. Harry Potter is a given! Other books I’d like to encourage my fictional youngsters to read include Roald Dahl, Jacqueline Wilson, and surprisingly Enid Blyton. I just bought a set of Malory Towers books for £10 because I don’t have my originals anymore, and through blogging I’ve decided I want my own “collection”. R x

    Liked by 1 person

      • I bought a Roald Dahl collection the other day too. When I was younger, I was really the only avid reader in my family, and while my mum supported my reading, kind of, I’d often get comments about how I’d outgrown certain books, and how I’d need to get rid of some to make space. It’s only as I got older (and as an adult could do what I liked!) that I majorly regret not having these in my life (Jacqueline Wilson, Meg Cabot, The Switchers series).

        Now, some of these might be awful if I read them as an adult. But some might be amazing. So, when I find Childrens’ books on sale, I’m picking them up to rebuild my collection.

        Jacqueline Wilson often wrote MG “issues” books, some of my favourites were Bad Girls, The Illustrated Mum, The Suitcase Kid, and The Bed and Breakfast Star. She did do a series that was more YA, which I adored, Girls in Tears, Girls Out Late, Girls Under Pressure and Girls in Love.

        Enid Blyton, The Malory Towers series is really all I’ve read by her, boarding school story. I loved it.

        Meg Cabot was The Princess Diaries series, and she did one paranormal series too called The Mediator. All American Girl was also a favourite.

        Ugh. I love Kids books sometimes! R x

        Liked by 1 person

        • I’ve actually never read Matilda and it’s something I’ve been regretting lately. I love the movie and I just know the book has got to be just as good. I regret giving my books away, but I also kept a bunch of journals when I was younger and for some reason I decided to get rid of them all and I have never regretted anything more. Even if it was silly, it was a part of my childhood and those journals and books were important to me and I really wish I could go back and make a different decision. Children’s books are awesome! I actually really love middle-grade reads. They can be so much fun and charming, and I actually end up enjoying some of them more than many of the YA and adult books I’ve read.

          Liked by 1 person

  3. Okay – this is a great idea for a link up! I may have to try this. As for me – I have a box of books I saved from my tweens that I hope my girls will like – mainly Sweet Valley Twins, but also Babysitters club, Sweet Valley High – you know, really high brow classic stuff 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Suzanne Collins’ The Underland Chronicles was a BIG hit in our humble abode. My eldest (who is 12) still cries over the series whenever it is brought up, I kid you not, I dread reading it for this very reason. Wonder is another family favorite 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

