The Friday 56, #62: Inkspell

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Also be sure to leave me a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

‘He carefully unwrapped the fire-elves’ stolen honey from the leaves that kept it moist and supple and put a tiny morsel in his mouth…The effect of a tiny piece lasted for five or six months, sometimes almost a year. Just a soft whisper in the language of flames, a snap of your fingers, and sparks would leap crackling from dry wood, damp wood, even stone.’

Cornelia Funke’s Inkspell is the second book in the Inkword trilogy about a girl who discovers her father has the ability to bring fictional characters out of the pages of books. This is one of my favorite series and though it would be amazing to bring fictional characters to life, I’m not sure I’d want that kind of power. If you could bring a character out of a book, who would it be? Leave a link to your own 56 post in the comments!

29 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #62: Inkspell

  1. I read Inkheart when it first came out and didn’t even realize there was another book until a few years ago.I might have to reread Inkheart before I find myself a copy of Inkspell.
    Thanks for sharing!
    Amanda

    Like

  2. I adore this series (book 3 does have a slow opening, though)… What if I said Dustfinger, would that be cheating?

    Also… I picked up Reckless by Cornelia Funke, and while I enjoyed it, I felt like it she had some buyer’s remorse about not doing an entire book about Dustfinger and was trying to make up for it, a little, with that character… Still basically love everything of hers I’ve read though.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. If I could bring a character out of a book, it would be a nice young guy who would whisk me of somewhere exotic. Only in a book does one of those exist.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

