The Friday 56, #60: Tiger Lily

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

**Also be sure to leave me a link to your Friday 56 post in the comments!**

‘She must have been free for some time, because as he leaned in, she flung all her rage against him with her weight, held him against a tree, her fingers around his neck. Panting, her heart racing, she squeezed until he choked for breath and sank slowly down the tree, half conscious.’

I am a big Peter Pan fan, despite not reading the original work. Tiger Lily by Jodi Lynn Anderson is a retelling of the tale from Tiger Lily’s perspective and it is so beautifully written, I spent a lot of time just in awe of it.

From my review:

“On Neverland, where mermaids and pirates pose a threat to all, nothing is more dangerous than the boy Peter Pan and the lost boys. At fifteen Tiger Lily is a bold and fierce creature. To her tribe, the Sky Eaters, she is wild and reckless. When an Englander is shipwrecked on the island, the tribe, afraid of the aging disease he carries, refuses to help him, but Tiger Lily has other ideas. Tiger Lily’s decision will alter her tribe forever and bring her face to face with the enigmatic Peter Pan.” You can read my full review here.

22 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #60: Tiger Lily

  1. I can honestly say that The original Peter Pan was not at all my cup of tea. It was so dank, dark and depressing for a children’s book. I must say this sounds a hundred times better than the original source. 🙂

    Like

  2. I saw this book on netgalley I think and for some stupid reason didn’t request it.. my brain! This sounds amazing and now I definitely need to get my hands on it because I always wanted to know more about Tiger Lilly! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

