Kernels of Nonsense, #23: TBR Lists

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a bimonthly discussion feature posted the second and fourth Sunday of every month. Today I will be discussing TBR lists.

As book nerds, we all have TBR lists. Lists full of books we want to read, whether we decide to buy them or check them out from the library. Some of us have a couple dozen books on the TBR while others of us have well over a hundred. As a book blogger, I add books to my TBR faster than I can read them. I never run out of books to read, but I have serious doubts about whether or not I’ll even get to read all the books I want to.

I admit that the first thing that catches my eye when it comes to a book is the cover. I just love a beautiful cover. I know, I know, we aren’t supposed to judge books by their covers. And I don’t, I just get intrigued by them because of how they look (a girl can look, can’t she?). But I do require more, usually this is where Goodreads comes in. I like to read the book’s blurb and take a peek at the rating (I also might hop on over to Amazon to see the rating there). If the synopsis sounds interesting enough and the rating isn’t too low, I’ll add it to my list.

Blogger’s reviews are another reason I add books to the TBR. I usually like to wait to read reviews until after I’ve read a book, but for those books I’ve only heard a little about and are unsure if I should read them, I rely on reviews to persuade me. Top Ten Tuesdays are the worst! Visiting other bloggers’ wonderful lists makes me so excited and before I know it, I’ve added a bunch of new books to my TBR. Every time we do one of those “Most Anticipated–” or seasonal TBR lists, I know I’m in trouble.

I’m terrible at organizing my TBR. Instead of a list, it’s a bunch of separate little groups of books living on Goodreads and Amazon. While on Goodreads I have only two TBR lists, on Amazon it’s more like ten. I sometimes separate them by release date or books I want to check out from the library or books I may want to read, but aren’t sure about. Some books you’ll only find on my Amazon list or vice versa. I don’t know why I just don’t organize it. I kind of like the idea that unread books can be found everywhere and I can just browse through these lists if I’m looking for book to read. When I make library runs, I’ll search through these different lists and whatever I feel in the mood for, these are the ones I put on hold.

tbrjarI love the concept of TBR jars. There’s something very whimsical about keeping little notes with book titles in a jar. I own one myself, though I think I like the idea more than the practice. I appreciate the aesthetic, but haven’t actually used it to determined what to read next. I feel my way to my next read, so I don’t like to be told that I have to read a book. Still, I love having this little jar.

How do you decide which books to add to your TBR? How do you organize your list? Do you have a special system? Do you have a TBR list or mountain? What about a TBR jar? Let’s discuss in the comments!

6 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #23: TBR Lists

    • When you have a lot of books on your TBR, it is so easy to forget the ones that have been on there for ages. I have the same problem and sometimes I completely forget why I wanted to read these older books in the first place. New books are just so tempting!

      Like

  1. Covers definitely draw me to books too! There are definitely some books I’ve read only because I loved the beautiful cover. On the flip side, I’ve never NOT read a book based on the cover. Most of the books I add to my TBR come from blog reviews, though!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My TBR list which exists in Goodreads and the towering, overflowing pile on a table in my bedroom contains more books than I can possible read in the next couple of years. It grows faster than I will ever be able to keep up 🙂 I’m a sucker for beautiful book covers too!

    Liked by 1 person

    • I have this irrational fear that I’ll run out of books on my shelf to read. It’s probably why I keep buying books, even when I have so many and not to mention all the books I check out from the library. It might be more rational to think the TBR pile will never shrink.

      Like

Share your thoughts here!

