The Friday 56, #57: Emma

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

‘Oh, to be sure,’ cried Emma, ‘it is always incomprehensible to a man that a woman should ever refuse an offer of marriage. A man always imagines a woman to be ready for any body to ask her.’

Emma is the only Jane Austen novel I haven’t read yet and I’ve been contemplating giving it a go very soon. Despite this, I feel like I know the story, having watched numerous adaptations.

Have you read Emma? Let me know what you thought and be sure to leave a link to your own Friday 56 post if you’ve participated this week.

30 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #57: Emma

  1. I love Jane Austen. Shockingly though, I have not read Emma! Just Pride & Prejudice and Sense & Sensibility too! Still, do you ever find yourself overwhelmed and utterly fascinated with the way the women in the early 1800’s held themselves? They were so well-versed, vigorous and unyielding (sigh)

    Like

  2. Yes, I read Emma last year on a read-along. It took me about seven weeks but finally finished it. I am a Jane Austen fan so I won’t say I didn’t like it- I just like all her other books better.

    Friday Quotes

    Like

  3. It almost feels wrong that the only Austen I’ve ever read is P&P. I started Northanger Abbey and abandoned it. Haven’t tried Emma. Perhaps that would work better? I do love the quote.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

