The Ultimate Book Tag

ultimatebooktagI was tagged earlier this month for the Ultimate Book Tag by Rachel @ Confessions of a Book Greek and since I haven’t done a tag this month, I thought I’d tackle this one before March is complete.

1. Do you get sick while reading in the car?

Yes, I do! It’s one of the most tragic things in my life. I think I’ve mentioned this before, but I also can’t read when I’m on a plane. So sad.

2. Which author’s writing style is completely unique to you and why?

Maggie Stiefvater is a genius, I tell ya! There is no author that writes her characters with the kind of care she does when it comes to her Raven Cycle series. These characters literally breathe!

3. Harry Potter Series or the Twilight Saga? Give 3 points to defend your answer.

Harry Potter. Always and forever.

  1. I’ve only seen the first Twilight movie, I haven’t read the books.
  2. One hundred years from now people will still be talking about Harry Potter.
  3. Fifty years from now I will still be reading Harry Potter.


4. Do you carry a book bag? If so, what is in it (besides books…)?

No, I carry a handbag, but I always make sure I buy bags that can hold a book (and I always carry one with me).

5. Do you smell your books?

Of course.

6. Books with or without little illustrations?

I don’t mind little illustrations. Sometimes they get the point across in a way words can’t. I see them more commonly in middle school books and they are always so charming.

7. What book did you love while reading but discovered later it wasn’t quality writing?

There are several books I read a few years back that I thought were pretty good, but looking back now I probably would not rated them very high. Too many to name.

8. Do you have any funny stories involving books from your childhood? Please share!

Not necessarily involving books, but my older brother and father like to tell me that when I was a little girl I would make up complicated stories and talk their ears off. Apparently I always baffled them.

9. What is the thinnest book on your shelf?

I have a couple of very small Dover Thrift editions and The Strange Case of Dr. Jekyll and Mr. Hyde by Robert Louis Stevenson is only 54 pages long.

10. What is the thickest book on your shelf?

My copy of Victor Hugo’s Les Miserables is 1463 pages. I’m pretty sure it could stop a bullet.

11. Do you write as well as read? Do you see yourself in the future as being an author?

I really enjoy writing, but I also really enjoy reading. I’m not sure I’d make a great author, but I think being an editor would be loads of fun.

12. When did you get into reading?

I loved writing stories since I was young and I really liked to read, but I never considered myself a true bookworm until Harry Potter.

13. What is your favorite classic book?

Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. Elizabeth Bennet is my book twin.

14. In school was your best subject Language Arts/English?

English and Math were always my strongest subjects. I don’t want to brag or anything…

15. If you were given a book as a present that you had read before and hated… What would you do?

People usually don’t buy me books, they are more likely to buy me bookstore giftcards. Bless them.

16. This is very mysterious, as this question is missing and when I tried to hunt it down, it couldn’t be found…

17. What is a bad habit you always do (besides rambling) while blogging?

I wait an absurd amount of time to follow up on tags, sometimes I forget I’ve been tagged altogether. I’ve got an awful memory.

18. What is your favorite word?

I’m very fond of the word lackadaisical. I should use it more often.

19. Are you a nerd, dork, or dweeb? Or all of the above?

I’m a self-professed nerd. Book nerd to be specific.

20. Vampires or Fairies? Why?

I have this strange aversion to vampires. I was never really into them and after a few bad vampire books, I’m turned off altogether. Fairies are only acceptable if we are in fact talking about Fey, they are terrifying.

21. Shapeshifters or Angels? Why?

I don’t think I’ve ever read a book with shapeshifters. There are a couple of Angel books I like, but there are a couple of ones I hate too. Depends on the book rather than the subject matter.

22. Spirits or Werewolves? Why?

I’m not sure what you mean by spirits, but if you mean ghost like apparitions, then yes, I would choose the paranormal over supernatural werewolves.

23. Zombies or Vampires?

Finalyl, a definite answer from me. I love zombies. I’ve read more zombie books than any of the other subjects mentioned. I can’t get enough, so if you have any recommendations, let me know!

24. Love Triangle or Forbidden Love?

Forbidden love. I’m so tired of love triangles, it’s getting to the point where I might just avoid any book involving one to keep myself from pulling out my own hair.

25. AND FINALLY: Full on romance books or action-packed with a few love scenes mixed in?

I do like romance, sometimes I love it, but I need more than just romance to focus on.

Anyone and everyone is welcome to do this tag.

5 thoughts on “The Ultimate Book Tag

  1. I used to get sick riding in the car and it always made me very sad. I found this oil stuff with the motion sickness medicine that really helps. I just sniff it when I start feeling queasy and the feeling goes away. I have to hold the book at eye level too. I so agree that lackadaisical should be used more often. It’s an awesome word. Fun tag!

    Like

  2. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

