Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wish Had Been a Part of My Childhood

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic asks us to list books from our childhood we’d love to revisit, but because I don’t have the best memory, I don’t think I could come up with ten books. Instead I’ve elected to list ten children’s books that I wish had been a part of my childhood. Some of these titles I missed out on when I was younger, others I started late, and some weren’t written until I was older. Regardless of your age, if you haven’t read these books, I encourage you to do so.

Ten Books I Wish Had Been a Part of My Childhood:

Have you read any of these? Which books do you wish were a part of your childhood? Be sure to leave a link to your TTT post in the comments!

43 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books I Wish Had Been a Part of My Childhood

  1. I read the Giver and The Lion Witch and the Wardrobe older I was an odd little girl and didn’t like to read books when they were popular… I feel at the age I read them it made me appreciate them more. I still am curious about a wrinkle in time!

    Like

  2. Are you sure you’re okay without them?!? Anne was on my list to revisit, and I’ve recently reread the Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe. I wish I’d read Harry Potter when I was younger too, I got into them a little late 🙂

    Like

  3. I didn’t read The Lion, the Witch and the Wardrobe or Alice in Wonderland until I studied them at university. I wish I’d read them when I was younger. Same goes for The Wind in the Willows and The Secret Garden too. Great list!

    Like

  4. Great list! I think I’d like to go back and visit A Wrinkle in Time, too – I thought parts of it were extremely confusing when I read it as a kid so it would be nice to get a little firmer grasp of the story.

    Like

  5. Between elementary school and my middle school I think The Giver was assigned to read multiple times. 😛 But I really liked the story, it was so intriguing! 🙂

    Like

  6. Inkheart is my ALL TIME FAVORITE BOOK to this day! i’m so excited to see this on someone else’s list! (admittedly, i’ve read this book at least 30 times or so. my copy is falling apart!) great list this week! i loved Harry Potter and Alice in Wonderland as a child as well!

    Like

  7. I remember reading Inkheart and thinking the concept that I could read my books to life was awesome… until I remembered all the villains. I know there are two more books out but they are newer so I’ve never read them.
    Thanks for sharing.

    Like

  8. Gah, I still haven’t read Anne of Green Gables, and I keep vowing that I will! I wish I could have grown up with Harry Potter as well, but at least I got to experience them through the eyes of my kids as well as my own, and that was a great experience. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: March ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

