Exploring My Bookshelves, #3: Longest Book

shelvesExploring My Bookshelves is an original meme hosted by Addlepates and Book Nerds.

How it works:

1. Post a picture of your bookshelves.

2. Choose a book for the week’s topic.

3. Share the blurb for the book.

4. Share your link on Addlepates and Book Nerds.

 

janeausten
This week we’re posting our longest book which I happen to be missing…kind of. I’m not sure where I put my copy of Les Misérables, but I’m pretty sure it’s my longest book. So in its stead, I’m sharing my book Jane Austen: The Illustrated Library which includes her six novels with lovely illustrations, at a whopping 1167 pages.

Any Jane Austen fans out there?

13 thoughts on “Exploring My Bookshelves, #3: Longest Book

  1. I would never post a picture of my bookshelves. I’m such a horrid housekeeper, I’d be terribly embarrassed (plus, I have them in three different places in my house – how to choose, how to choose).

    Like

    • It’s huge! Both in size and length. Emma is the only Jane Austen book I have’t read. Sometimes I take it with me when I walk my dog, but I’ve only gotten to page 60 or so. I need to commit to it to complete the Jane Austen experience. Which novel is your favorite?

      Liked by 1 person

      • My answer is pretty cliche, but Pride and Prejudice! I also really like Northanger Abby and Persuasion. And I’ve returned Emma on the bookshelf (I think I started in February and got to page 300 but couldn’t bear to trek to the end). I also wasn’t too much of a fan of Sense and Sensibility since it reminded me a lot of P&P. And I still haven’t read Mansfield Park yet, but I plan to sometime in the future. What about you? 😀

        Liked by 1 person

        • Ditto, P&P is jam. I’ve read it multiple times and can’t seem to stop buying pretty editions. Mansfield is probably my least favorite. I do love Elinor from Sense and Sensibility, her practical side reminds me of myself. Are you an Austen purist or do you like reading retellings?

          Liked by 1 person

        • Though I haven’t read any Darcy perspective novels or retellings, in no way am I an Austen purist. I’m open to anything, but I’ve seen bad reviews on P&P inspired adaptations… Have you read anything worth recommending? And in terms of movies, I’ve watched a couple like Becoming Jane (I think it’s called) and Austenland. 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

        • I’m a big fan of Pride and Prejudice and Zombies. I just think meshing the two together was brilliant. I really haven’t read too many other retellings, but I do love watching BBC adaptations of Austen’s novels. This is probably why I feel like I know Emma even if I haven’t read it.

          Liked by 1 person

        • I haven’t read that one yet! But I think my best friend has and she really enjoyed it. I haven’t read a true zombie book yet so I’ll add that to my TBR. I actually saw Emma before starting the book and found it to be okay but something about the book isn’t compelling enough for me to continue at this time. And I just saw Mansfield Park today and really liked it. Usually I hate watch movies before I read the books, but I’m pretty okay with watching films before books when it comes to Austen. 😛

          Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

