The Friday 56, #53: Irish Fairy Tales

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 


“Well, you’re an honest fellow, and as I don’t care for the king’s daughter, though she’s as beautiful as the day, and is covered with jewels from top to toe, you shall have her.”

Someone gifted me this little book, Irish Fairy Tales, in honor of St. Patrick’s Day on Monday, so I thought I’d share from it for this Friday 56. I haven’t read far enough into any of the tales to determine whether or not they are as grim as, well, Grimm’s Fairy Tales, but I wouldn’t be surprised as original fairy tales tend to be far different than versions we see nowadays.

26 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #53: Irish Fairy Tales

  1. Another reminder that I have to find something green for my eldest for Tuesday! I’d be interested to know how grim(m?) they are. A great choice for this time of year 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

