Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books for Readers Who Like the Idea of Reading Classics…

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’re listing “Ten Books For Readers Who Like _______” (choose your topic of choice). I was tempted to skip this week because I’m barely functioning mentally and after ten failed attempts (okay, more like five) to come up with a topic, I settled on (prepare yourself, it is a mouthful) Ten Books for Readers Who Like the Idea of Reading Classics But Don’t Want to Pick Up a 700 Page Book. All the classics I’m listing are under 200 pages with three exceptions.

Ten Books for Readers Who Like the Idea of Reading Classics But Don’t Want to Pick Up a 700 Page Book:

1. The Catcher in the Rye by J.D. Salinger (277 pages)

2. Fahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury (186 pages)

3. Anthem by Ayn Rand (105 pages)

4. Lord of the Flies by William Golding (190 pages)

5. Of Mice and Men by John Steinbeck (107 pages)

6. The Picture of Dorian Gray by Oscar Wilde (248 pages)

7. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton (198 pages)

8. Night by Elie Wiesel (109 pages)

9. The Great Gatsby by F. Scott Fitzgerald (180 pages)

10. Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen (251 pages)

What topic did you choose this week? Leave a link to your own TTT post in the comments and I’ll be sure to visit your blog!

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Books for Readers Who Like the Idea of Reading Classics…

  1. I think your topic is so creative! I’m actually quite proud of myself by having read all of these except Dorian Grey, Anthem, and Northanger Abbey, since I don’t consider myself a huge classics reader (although I read most of them for school, but still).

    I hope the rest of your week gets better!

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I read about half of these for high school. I remember liking Anthem bu it has been so long since I read it that I’m not sure why.
    I read Night in high school and for a college course. It is a powerful little book.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Like

  3. Lovely list of classics! Definitely reminds me of my high school years :D. However, I recall reading Fahrenheit 451 in 8th grade.

    Like

  4. This week I chose the topic of Picture Books because really, that’s where my love of reading began (and with my mom reading chapter books to me each night before bed).
    I like how you included the number of pages with your picks for this week. I’ve read #10, but none of the others. 🙂

    Aidyl @ Noveltea

    Like

  5. HAHAHA! I LOVE your topic! It’s soooo true for me. I like the idea too but have no desire to read a long (and often boring) book. LOVED Lord of the Flies, and Dorian Grey is probably going to be the next one I read. 🙂

    Like

  6. The size of so many classics is making me hesitate to pick them up right now. I don’t have time to wrestle with 500 pages of Hardy when I have stacks and stacks of review books growing up around me! I actually just listened to The Great Gatsby and was surprised by how much I liked it and how grim it was. Dorian Grey is on my TBR and I’m really looking forward to it and of course The Outsiders is just amazing. Great list!

    Like

  7. Wow, great list! I loved a lot of these, but I wasn’t a big fan of The Great Gatsby (I actually think it’s a little overrated). Steinbeck is one of my favorite authors! East is Eden is really good as well.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

