The Re-Read Challenge: February Recap

The 2015 Re-Read Challenge
The Re-Read Challenge is hosted by Belle of the Literati and So Obsessed With. While I originally intended to only reread twelve books this year, in which case I would only reread one book per month, I somehow ended up rereading two books yet again for the month. Both of these books have sequels being released in March, so I wanted to revisit them before I read the sequels.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

WHEN I First Read:
I read Rachel Hartman’s Seraphina two and a half years ago when it was first released. I can’t believe it’s been so long!
 
WHAT I Remember:
I remember dragons, music and a rather bittersweet ending.
 
WHY I Wanted to Re-Read:
Finally, the sequel, Shadow Scale, is being released and it’s been a very long time, so I really needed to reread this one.
 
HOW I Felt After Re-Reading:
In awe of its sheer brilliance, in love with the world Rachel Hartman has built.

WOULD I Re-Read Again: 
Yes. This book is just fantastic and who doesn’t love dragons?
You can read my reviews for this book and its sequel here: Seraphina and Shadow Scale.
~~~
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

WHEN I First Read:
I read The Winner’s Curse last May after a spur-of-the-moment purchase.

WHAT I Remember:
Kestel. I remember how impressed I was with this protagonist. She’s brilliant and soft-hearted and I just loved her.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read:
The sequel, The Winner’s Crime, is coming out next week, so I wanted to reread this before then.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading: 
Although I remember how good this book was, I forgot how painful it was too! I continue to be impressed with Kestrel, but feel that I have a much better understanding of Arin as well. The Winner’s Curse isn’t about a good side and a bad side. It’s so easy to see both sides and the chasm between Kestrel and Arin is not about what they want but who they are.

WOULD I Re-Read Again:
Yes. It was just as good the second time around. I reviewed this book last May, which you can read here.

Are you taking part in the Re-Read Challenge? Have you reread any books lately?

5 thoughts on “The Re-Read Challenge: February Recap

  1. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  2. I just read The Winner’s Curse a few weeks ago and I loved it! I can’t wait for the sequel! I haven’t read Seraphina, but it looks really interesting.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

