Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. For this week we will be listing “Ten Book Related Problems I Have (could be serious or fun!).” Well, this should be fun, if not a little embarrassing…

Ten Book Related Problems I Have:

1. Buying too many books. I don’t have to buy every book I want to read. I don’t have to buy every book I want to read. I’m just going to repeat this until it’s drilled into my brain.

2. Letting go of the books I don’t want. Because of my number 1 problem, I have accumulated a lot of books and many of these were not exactly amazing. I have a box of books in my closet and two big bags of books that I’m supposed to give away. Supposed to give away.

3. My fanatical rants. Sometimes books like Harry Potter come up in conversation with people who don’t know the extent of my love for the series. Sometimes I frighten them with my enthusiasm.

4. I feel the need to buy a book now, but then I don’t read it for several months. I’m ridiculous. I find the need to buy a book when it is released, but then I don’t read it right away. And then the price goes down.

5. I can’t focus on more than one book at once. I mean, yes, I can read more than one book at once, but it’s painful. I have yet to master this kind of multitasking. I can’t even begin a new book until I’ve written a review of the last one.

6. People annoy me. I need for it to be quiet while I’m reading. People are really noisy. They also like to start deep, soul-searching conversations when I’m reading. This is my fault, I have one of those I’m-invested-and-interested-in-what-you-have-to-say auras. I really don’t know what I’m doing to attract all these people.

7. My dream chair. I have this fantasy of finding a perfect reading chair, the kind where I can dangle my legs over one side and recline against the other. I’m still searching…

8. The bookstores in my city have almost all disappeared. Once upon a time there were three used bookstores and two chain bookstores in my city, plus a library used bookstore . Now there is only a library used bookstore and a Barnes & Noble. The prospect of the B&N disappearing frightens the heck out of me.

9. I can’t read while traveling. I get carsick while reading. Airplanes are too uncomfortable. This is my tragic life!

10. I’m overprotective of certain characters. Like I’m willing to fight you. Physically. I don’t think this is normal. A few of these characters include: Richard Campbell Gansey III, Chaol Westfall, Ismae Rienne, Elizabeth Bennet, Todd Hewitt, Ron Weasley…I could go on.)

Any of these sound familiar? Let me know in the comments and be sure to leave a link to your Top Ten Tuesday!

52 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Book Related Problems I Have

    • I keep going back and forth about giving these books away. I know I need to, but I always “forget” to bring them along to donate when I go to the library. There’s a joke in there somewhere about your last statement, but I’ll spare you from hearing my frivolous humor.

      Like

  1. HAHAH – I relate to ALL of these! I feel I’m getting a little better at number 1 already this year, I’ve read 2 whole books from the library so far, which is 2 more than last year! Number 2, I haven’t even attempted yet. I keep threatening to, but usually I can only let go after I’ve read them. I can kind of cull after reading, but before reading?! How do I know if I’m missing out on a new favourite or not? 3. Yes. Just yes. 4. I’m good with this one except for authors/series/books I’m IN LOVE with. I only started pre-ordering again last year and try to keep it to a minimum. Because offers. 5. I’m with ya, I wrote a post all about book monogamy over on Oh, The Books!

    My TTT: https://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2015/02/17/top-ten-tuesday-book-geek-problems/

    Liked by 1 person

    • The library is the only way I don’t go broke from my reading habit (addiction?). I’ve been good with pre-ordering too this year. I’ve only preordered two books and both are second installments from series I love (plus I used a coupon and giftcard). At some point I know I’m going to end up pre-ordering A Court of Thorns and Roses too, obviously.

      Liked by 1 person

      • I requested it on NetGalley but I haven’t heard back yet… 😦 I’ve preordered Colleen Hoover’s new book next month, and I will preorder Throne of Glass #4. It’s exciting that I actually know what books are coming out now in advance! It’s been a LONG time since I’ve done that! R x

        Like

        • I debated that too – as much as I love eARCS sometimes I want to know it’s the finished copy I’m holding. I don’t know if much ever changes between ARC status and final copy, but just in case… There are two versions on NetGalley, so I assumed one was UK preferred and one US? Rx

          Liked by 1 person

  2. I do number 3 and 4!!
    I get really into a book and won’t stop raving about it! Or if a book really annoyed me, I won’t shut up about how much I hated it 😛
    I also buy books that I’m dying to read and then don’t read them for ages and ages! Sometimes, if I really like an author, I’ll buy a ton of their books, read one or two and then don’t go back to the rest for years… It’s so bad of me!
    I’m bad at clinging onto books that I didn’t like much or feel indifferent about, particularly if they look really pretty… It’s really silly. I also have to cull books periodically, but hang onto books I’m sure I won’t like for ages as well… I always feel much better when I get rid of them and have more shelf space though!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, yes! I have a few books that are just gorgeous but the book itself was terrible…but look at the pretty, how can I give away the pretty, look how nice it makes my bookshelf look! More shelf space makes me feel very happy, but then I inevitably feel the need to buy more books because empty shelf space is meant to be filled. It’s a vicious cycle!

      Liked by 1 person

  3. It is so sad that you can’t read while traveling. I do so much of my reading in a car it is crazy. I read the entirety of Scarlet in the car on a drive home from my sister’s. (Yes, everything in Montana is a long ways from anything else…)

    Like

  4. I definitely feel you on all of these. Especially #5. I’ve found that I can balance a fiction and a nonfiction at the same time, but if I’m reading anything more I start to get weird about it. Like I can’t hold two pieces of fiction in my brain at once or something.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. On the other side, there’s me, who mostly only reads while traveling – on a bus, train, cab. I feel like this is my only time to read and I am grateful to the book gods for making me able to do this. Cause really, much of our time is spent on going from one place to another….

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s those comments like “Well, I’ve watched the Harry Potter movies, so I don’t have to read the books” that get me. The movies are only a tiny peek into the wizarding world and if you think the movies do the series enough justice, you are plenty mistaken…whoops, I just went into rant territory.

      Like

  6. I finally figured out how to read in the car! You can buy this motion sickness oil at Wal-Mart with the Dramamine and stuff (I tried that too but it made me grumpy) so I sniff the oil every few minutes and hold the Kindle (or book) directly in front of my face so I’m not moving my head at all. On re-reading that it sounds crazy so maybe I should add that to my list as well! Great list! I definitely relate to most of these!

    Like

  7. Oh my word! I cannot even begin to express how much I relate to most if not all of your 10! More specifically though, with my deathly overprotective nature to stand up for certain characters. My hubby has to often remind me that they are “fictional” how dare he!?!??!?

    Liked by 1 person

    • How dare he?! I’ve been on the receiving end of comments like “It’s just a book!” Usually this is because I happen to be bawling over fictional characters, but what do they know? They know nothing of the pain and how real it feels and I just need to calm myself down…

      Like

  8. I feel the same way with many of these! I’m always buying books. Anything I earn, I invest in books, and it’s swallowing up my money. But once I buy a book, there’s always so many other books I have to read before I can get to the one I just bought. And I can’t read more than one novel at a time, either, so I have to wait. I also can’t read in cars, I get nauseous very easily, and unfortunately reading doesn’t help. *sighs* The struggle is real!

    Claire @ Cover to Cover

    Like

  9. Ha ha, fanatical rants! I”ve definitely scared people with my super-enthusiastic raptures over Outlander… and Harry Potter too! This is a great list, and I can definitely relate to so much of it.

    Liked by 1 person

  10. Oh yeah, I can sympathize with these. I definitely buy too many books, even tho I already have plenty. I can go on fanatical rants, challenge people to fights over characters, and yes, I do scare people with my enthusiasm. I fee ya! Thanks for stopping by my blog! Have a great week! 😀

    Like

  11. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: February ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

