The Friday 56, #48: The Cure for Dreaming

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 


“I could see him moving beyond the glass–a distorted figure in a trim white coat, bending over the silhouette of a man tipped back in the padded dental chair. Laughter erupted from the patient, first in snickers, then in loud brays and hiccups that told me the man had inhaled a bag of nitrous oxide…”

Cat Winter’s The Cure for Dreaming was such a delightful book and I’m really eager to pick up more books that deal with women’s suffrage, so if anyone has any suggestions, please share!

From my review:
“Olivia Mead is living in a time of change. It is 1900 and the women’s suffrage movement is gaining steam across the states. But for Olivia, the dream of voting one day is made difficult by her father, who wishes to stanch the wayward passions of his daughter. When the young and talented hypnotist Henri Reverie arrives in town, bewitching audiences, Olivia’s father offers him a job to hypnotize his daughter into accepting what the proper place for a woman is. When Olivia awakens from the trance, she is horrified to discover that the hypnosis has gone awry and she now sees the true intentions of people, manifested through both horrific and beautiful visions.” You can read my full review here.

26 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #48: The Cure for Dreaming

  1. The cover for this one looks stunning, if slightly spooky! I think I’d have to read a bit more about this one before deciding whether it is one for me, but it does sound very fun! I think I’ll have to add this one to my TBR mountain! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

