The Re-Read Challenge: January Recap

The 2015 Re-Read Challenge
The Re-Read Challenge is hosted by Belle of the Literati and So Obsessed With. Click here to learn about all the details and sign-up. This is my first time participating in this challenge and while I am still trying to figure out when I should post a recap for the month and how to organize it, I’ve elected to summarize my rereading in a single post this month. I will be reviewing some of the rereads I do, so I’ll be sure to include a link if you are interested. This month I reread two books: Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling and To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee.

Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire by J.K. Rowling

WHEN I First Read:
I read this way back when it was released. I don’t even want to think about how many years—too late. I hadn’t realized I was so old until this very moment.
 
WHAT I Remember:
I remember probably more about Harry Potter books than any other books I’ve read in the past because of the movies. I still remember vividly how much I was disappointed that a few scenes in the book didn’t make it into the movie (“scarlet woman,” anyone?).
 
WHY I Wanted to Re-Read:
My love for Harry Potter truly knows no bounds. I actually think my love for the wizarding world has increased as the years have gone by. I love revisiting this magical world!
 
HOW I Felt After Re-Reading:
Enamored. Charmed. If this was a romantic relationship, I’d be in big trouble (too much?). You can read my thoughts on it here.

WOULD I Re-Read Again:
Yes, I would absolutely read this book again. I’d probably would have read another HP book this month, but I completely forgot how long they are. My best friend and I would binge read the books as soon as they were released and then text each other at odd hours at night (did you get to page__ yet?). Even with school, we’d be done in a couple of days. Ah, the stamina of youth!
~~~
To Kill a Mockingbird by Harper Lee

WHEN I First Read:

It’s been a long time since I read To Kill a Mockingbird. I might have read it while I was in high school, but I’m not sure. It was one of those books I wanted to read, but none of the English classes I took read it.

WHAT I Remember:

Atticus Finch. Boo Radley. Jem and Scout. I actually remember this one pretty well, which is saying something for sure.

WHY I Wanted to Re-Read:

It’s been so long and I absolutely loved it the first time around, the second time was sure to be just as good.

HOW I Felt After Re-Reading: 

Heavy. It’s a good kind of heavy though, I have a lot of thoughts swirling around in my head and I just want to spent the rest of the day (or night as I am writing this) thinking about them. A quick blurb I wrote for Goodreads: “No review for this classic, just a couple of quick notes. I remember when I first read this one, it made me sad. I forgot how angry it could make me, but it’s the kind that burns so deep it feels like tears coming up. There’s a lot of injustice and hypocrisy in the world no matter what era we’re discussing, but there always that hope that the generation after will do better. I really do hope it.”

WOULD I Re-Read Again:

Yes. I thought I remembered the story well enough, but I was surprised by how much this story has affected me this time around.

Are you taking part in the Re-Read Challenge? Have you reread any books this year? Do you plan to?

6 thoughts on “The Re-Read Challenge: January Recap

  1. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

  2. Oh to have the luxury of re-reading a book. The only book I’ve read more than once is “Catch 22” to tell the truth. I just have too many books to read and too little time!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

