Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Club Books

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Ten Books I’d Love to Read With My Book Club/If I Had A Book Club (or you could pick a specific kind of book club — like if you had a YA book club or an adult book club or a science fiction book club etc.).” Now I’ve never been a part of a book club, but it does sound rather appealing. If I were to join a book club, here are ten books I would suggest. I think the topics tackled in each would lead to very interesting discussions.

Top Ten Book Club Books:

Which books would you like to read if you were in a book club?

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Book Club Books

  1. I chose books I’ve already read for my book club, but if I were doing books I want to read I definitely would’ve included Noughts and Crosses- it seems like it deals with so many race/social issues and I love books like that! A book club setting would be perfect too because everyone could bring their own interpretations based on their own experiences when discussing. My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  2. To Kill a Mockingbird, Night, and Fahrenheit 451 are all books I teach in my high school classes, and they are the ones that generate the BEST discussions. The only other book that generates more than those three is The Queen of Attolia (which is always my choice when teaching a non-classic YA).

    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I would definitely book club The Book Thief. I read it about 5 years ago, so I’d love to reread it. Night, To Kill a Mockingbird, and Fahrenheit 451 I all discussed in school. They were great reads.

    Thanks for sharing.

    I accidentally did next week’s post on accident, but still check it out please. mine’s here

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I could see a lot of these generating really interesting conversations. Flowers for Algernon is one of my favorite books, and I’d love to read it with a group and see how it holds up! Great list.

    Like

  5. Although I did not include the Book Thief in my TTT I do think it would be such an interesting book to read with a book club. It would certainly spark a lot of discussions, that’s for sure.

    Like

  6. Oooo, Noughts and Crosses would be a great pick! Although I’m still annoyed at the ending… The Hunger Games also great for discussion!

    Like

  7. The Book Thief would be such a fabulous book club read. So many areas for discussion. I read The Hunger Games for book club and while I enjoyed the read a lot we didn’t end up really talking about the book which kind of stunk. Next time I”m in a book club I want it to be formed by people who really read! Great list!

    Like

  8. I’ve never been in a book club either. A fantasy one would be fun though. Hunger Games would be interesting to discuss with people who were reading it for the first time. I’ve been meaning to read Raven Boys forever and I’m afraid of the Book Thief. I might have to watch the movie first to prepare myself.

    Like

  9. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

