Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

Title: Gone Girl
Author: Gillian Flynn
Series: N/A

Nick and Amy’s marriage has been deteriorating for years. When layoffs and a family illness force the couple to relocate from New York to Nick’s small hometown in Missouri, the once-happy marriage becomes strained. When Nick gets a call from a neighbor that there is something amiss at his house, he isn’t sure what he’ll find. There are signs of a struggle and Amy is missing. Despite pleading his innocence, with each day that passes without a sign of Amy, the more the police begin to look at Nick. But Amy didn’t leave without a trace, following a series of clues left by his wife for their anniversary, Nick discovers there is more to his wife’s disappearance than meets the eye.

“And if all of us are play-acting, there can be no such thing as a soul mate, because we don’t have genuine souls.

It had gotten to the point where it seemed like nothing matters, because I’m not a real person and neither is anyone else.”

*Please note that while this review does not contain spoilers, it does allude to certain events in the novel that would be best understood by those who have read it.

I was a little conflicted on how to rate Gillian Flynn’s Gone Girl. On one hand, I found the story incredibly compelling. Amy and Nick’s different narratives are often at odds with one another, casting doubt on the reliability of one or both accounts. Neither character comes across as flawless and it is difficult to find either to be truly likable, but with that being said, the story is never boring and the uncertainty of the narrative keeps the reader engaged.

There is, however, a shift in the story that I was less sure about as the novel progressed. While there is a delicious twist, the novel’s direction afterwards regarding Amy felt odd. I bought into the twist because of the intelligence of the characters, but Amy’s journey leads her into a situation that didn’t agree with what I had learned about her.

Any complaints I have are mostly forgivable as I did enjoy the novel for the most part and found its characters complex and engaging. The unraveling of many characters’ lies and the mystery of Amy’s disappearance begged me to keep reading.

Rating: 3/5

★★★

6 thoughts on “Gone Girl by Gillian Flynn

  1. I gave this one the same rating as you. I didn’t think it really lived up to all of the hype that I was constantly hearing about it, and I really couldn’t connect with Nick or Amy. It was a good mystery novel, but nothing extraordinary. I’m looking forward to seeing the movie, though. Great review! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Glad you got round to reading this one! It’s a book that evoked a massive response from me, I love/hated it. I found it compelling, and that twist was so amazing, but I hated the ending, it just didn’t satisfy me and I felt it was a bit odd – didn’t think it was that realistic. R x

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

  4. Pingback: 2015 End of the Year Book Survey | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

