The Friday 56, #46: The Paper Magician

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 


“She lifted a long-nailed hand and squeezed it into a fist. ‘His heart is still worth something to me. A heart that’s known love is stronger than one that hasn’t, did you know that?'”

I really enjoyed Charlie N. Holmberg’s The Paper Magician, which I received through NetGalley and read a couple of weeks ago. I’m dying to get my hands on the sequel!

From my review:

“Nothing could make Ceony Twill, recent graduate of Tagis Praff School for the Magically Inclined, happier than to become a Smelter, a magician able to manipulate metal. But all her dreams are dashed away when she is informed that she will study under Magician Thane, a Folder, skilled in the art of paper. Ceony cannot believe her bad luck, but with little choice, she accepts the apprenticeship. Mg. Thane turns out to be very flighty and odd, but also thoughtful. When she and her teacher are attacked by an Excisioner, a wielder of dark magic, who steals Mg. Thane’s heart, Ceony must gather her courage and retrieve his heart before it is too late.” You can read my full review here.

23 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #46: The Paper Magician

  1. Aaah I just remembered I have this one and the sequel waiting for me on my Kindle!! Need to start reading that straight away because that F56 sounds amazing. I mean, who doesn’t love magic? Thanks for sharing πŸ™‚ I hope you enjoy your weekend!
    My Friday Post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

  2. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

