Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Haven’t Read Yet

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic isΒ a freebie. At the end of the year, I filled out a reading survey and I could not help but notice that I hadn’t read any new classics. I reread a couple, but to the best of my (somewhat reliable) memory, I didn’t pick up any new ones. So this week I’ve decided to list authors I haven’t read yet. I tried my best to list authors who are famous for more than one work, so you can suggest which book (or short-story collection) I ought to pick up.Β 

Top Ten Authors I Haven’t Read Yet:

1. Charles Dickens

2. Ernest Hemingway

3. Virginia Woolf

4. J.R.R. Tolkien

5. William Faulkner

6. Flannery O’Connor

7. Toni Morrison

8. H.P. Lovecraft

9. Elizabeth Gaskell

10. Aldous Huxley

Have you read these authors? Which books do you suggest I pick up?

47 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Authors I Haven’t Read Yet

  1. I hate Ernest Hemingway, so you’re not missing much. I actually have enjoyed his short stories, what I’ve read of them, but that beyond-Spartan prose just doesn’t work for me when stretched out to over 200 pages.

    I do highly recommend Brave New World. It’s such an awesome classic. I’ve read it thrice so far, twice for various classes and the third time for my own enjoyment.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I haven’t read a lot of these either, but I can vouch for Toni Morrison and Falnnery O’Connor- I read both for American lit classes and college and really enjoyed them (Morrison always has a deeper underlying message and Flannery has a really great sense of irony).
    My TTT

    Liked by 1 person

      • I’ve read 5 Woolfs since New Years…. oh man. I think I have a review for Between the Acts scheduled for next week, but that book broke me somewhere deep inside *sobs*
        It sounds so silly but LOTR is one of the books that I cried like a baby for stupid amounts of time… SO MANY EMOTIONS.
        But yeah, I’d have thrown The Sound and the Fury across the room if I hadn’t been in a 500 seat lecture theatre when I finished it. Though, it would have been a dramatic moment =P

        Like

  3. I adore J.R.R. Tolkien’s books. I have to say though that for me they were quite hard to read. Maybe that’s just because English isn’t my native language though. I do recommend watching the movies as well -if you haven’t…

    I haven’t read any of the other authors either… Oops!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Brave New World was the one book assigned to me in high school that I 100% loved. Also I read A Tale of Two Cities (Dickens) and The Old Man and the Sea (Hemingway) in HS … not a fan of either.

    I’ve never read North and South… but I’ve seen the BBC miniseries a zillion times. Does that count, lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I had an opportunity to read Brave New World in high school, but the group I was in elected to read The Awakening instead, which I don’t regret, but I do wish I would have picked up the former at some point. I love the North and South BBC miniseries! I might not have heard of the book if not for it.

      Like

  5. I have actually read six of these but, to be fair, I studied English literature in Uni so I had to. Toni Morison’s Pardise is actually very good, a little confusing, but still really good. I read Woolfe’s To the Lighthouse and hated it at first. Then I wrote an essay on it and realised the genius behind it. Mrs. Dalloway would be a good choice I think. My favourite by far though is the Hobbit. I absolutely loved that book so much! Hope you can get to some of these authors this year!

    My TTT

    Like

  6. Tolkien is definitely worth reading, and it’s probably best to stay with The Hobbit. And I LOVED North and South! It was a really good read. πŸ˜€

    Liked by 1 person

  7. DEFINITELY read Dickens, Tolkien, and Morrison!!! Those are three of my favorite authors, they’re absolutely brilliant! Beloved is a great place to start with Morrison, although I’m not sure where to start with Dickens- I started with A Tale of Two Cities, but Great Expectations is better in my opinion.

    I haven’t read any Aldous Huxley either! I’ve been wanting to read Brave New World for the longest time, but I just haven’t gotten around to it.

    Happy reading! πŸ™‚

    Liked by 1 person

  8. Dickens and Tolkien are two of my favorite authors! I’d suggest starting with A Christmas Carol, because it gives you a nice taste of Dicken’s style without being intimidatingly long. David Copperfield is my favorite. πŸ™‚ The Hobbit is probably the best place to start with Tolkien. It’s written for a younger audience so it’s a little easier than LOTR.
    The only other author on your list that I’ve read is Hemingway. I’m not a fan. He was emo before emo was a thing. πŸ˜›
    My TTT:
    https://abibliophilesstyle.wordpress.com/2015/01/20/ttt-book-boyfriends-smart-alecks-mystery-men-and-sweethearts/

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Woolf is great, I’m looking to read more from her as well. A room of one’s own is a great read. I wouldn’t recommend starting with Mrs. Dalloway, I’ve heard it’s best to start with some of her other fiction. Heminway’s short stories are great but I haven’t read any of his longer novels yet, just The Old Man and the Sea. I’m planning on reading Beloved this year. Great List!
    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday

    Like

  10. Flannery O’Connor’s “Revelation” and “Good Country People” are both interesting short stories. Quick reads with good character development.
    I’m with you on Lovecraft. I’ve never read any Lovecraft works and have always wanted to read some of his work. But I wouldn’t know where to start.

    Like

  11. I love Brave New World, and I’d recommend either Beloved or The Bluest Eye for Toni Morrison. One of my goals this year is to read some Dickens, probably Great Expectations. A Tale of Two Cities is one of my absolute favorite books, but it’s the only Dickens I’ve ever read. Oh, and I’m a fan of the LOTR books as well, and think everyone should read them! The Hobbit is fun and pretty light (ignore the movies!), but it’s got a really different feel than the LOTR trilogy. Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  12. Excellent topic! I haven’t read anything by Charles Dickens either. I would suggest reading a Toni Morrison book first. She’s great. Both Beloved and The Bluest Eye were really fantastic.

    Like

  13. Nice topic!
    I’ve read some Toni Morrison before – I couldn’t get into Beloved at all (but I have seen the film adaptation) but I liked Song For Solomon. With Charles Dickens I’ve only read (in full) a Christmas Carol which I read quite young and it’s actually super short an easy to read unlike some classics.

    Like

  14. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

