The Friday 56, #44: Anne of Green Gables

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 


“Oh, Mrs. Barry, please forgive me. I did not mean to–to–intoxicate Diana. How could I? Just imagine if you were a poor little orphan girl that kind people had adopted and you had just one bosom friend in all the world. Do you think you would intoxicate her on purpose?”

Today I am featuring L.M. Montgomery’s Anne of Green Gables. I just picked up a beautiful edition from Barnes & Noble (yes, I went again) and am justifying the purchase by reminding myself that my other copy is used and very worn. Excerpt taken from pg. 156-157.

36 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #44: Anne of Green Gables

  1. I love that book, and oh, that’s one of my favorite parts! I’m so glad you posted this, because it makes me smile and because I didn’t know about 56 Fridays, and that sounds fun. 🙂

    Like

  2. What a fun meme! I’m going to have to check it out and participate one of these Fridays! Of course, I can’t blame you for that gorgeous copy of Anne of Green Gables you bought. That is one of my all time favorite books. And what a perfect passage to share! I have the Anne of Green Gables cookbook, and I really want to have an Anne-themed tea party one of these days. Did you know there is also an Avonlea role playing group on Twitter? 🙂

    Like

  3. Pingback: January ’15: Monthly Wrap-Up | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

