Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone by J.K. Rowling

Title: Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone
Author: J.K. Rowling
Series: Harry Potter, #1

Harry Potter has always been a nobody, living with an aunt and uncle who barely tolerate him. But strange, unexplained happenings have always followed Harry. When a letter arrives address to him, his uncle quickly snatches it and whisks his family away, but Harry is more than a little curious to discover who is trying to reach him.

When a strange man finally tracks them down, Harry discovers he is a wizard and the letter contains on invitation to the magical school Hogwarts. A secret world of magic and mischief awaits Harry, where he’ll discover new friends, the truth behind the scar on his forehead, and the knowledge that the evil that killed his parents still lurks.

“Curious indeed how these things happen. The wand chooses the wizard, remember….I think we must expect great things from you, Mr. Potter….After all, He-Who-Must-Not-Be-Named did great things — terrible, yes, but great.”

When I started rereading J.K. Rowling’s Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, I wasn’t sure I was going to review it. After all, Harry Potter is such a precious gem to many of us, myself included, that I wasn’t sure what I could say, but here I am doing it anyway. Reading this book was bittersweet. I found myself enchanted once again by the wizarding world, but very much aware of Harry’s journey as a whole, one full of triumph but also grief. Here we see the beginning elements of the story come into being: themes of love and belonging, and foreshadowing sprinkled throughout.

I loved seeing Harry, Ron, and Hermione at the beginning of their acquaintance. Harry, who has been thrust into this new world, having the fame but completely ignorant of it, is finally able to find a real home. Ron, who I always thought was never given the full-credit due to him in the movies, is this fierce kid who at once feels overshadowed by the other members of his family but at the same time is very protective of them. And Hermione, dear bossy Hermione, becomes a sort of mother-hen to the two of them, and I’d be lying if I didn’t say she didn’t remind me of myself when I was younger (I’m much less bossy now, I promise).

I thoroughly enjoyed rereading Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone, and think I just might pick up the second next. On another note, I am still awaiting my own Hogwart’s letter because no matter how old I get, the magic of Harry Potter never ceases to bewitch and charm.

Rating : 5/5

★★★★★

2 thoughts on “Harry Potter and the Sorcerer’s Stone by J.K. Rowling

Share your thoughts here!

