Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic is “Top Ten Books I Read In 2014.” How exciting! After browsing Goodreads to figure out how many books I’ve given five-stars to this year, I discovered I was lucky enough to read 15 five-star books in 2014. As far as reviewing goes, I consider myself a tough reviewer, so this is a pretty good number. Of the fifteen I’ve managed to pretty easily narrow it down and in no particular order (that’s actually a lie, it is in a particular order, but you don’t need to know the particulars), here they are. If you click on the cover, it will take you to my review of the book (the exception is P&P which is the only reread I listed, but still deserving of recognition).

Top Ten Books I Read In 2014:

Have you read any of these books? Which books are in your Top Ten?

44 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I Read In 2014

  1. The Ocean at the End of the Lane didn’t quite make my list although I still enjoyed reading it πŸ™‚ Currently reading Sarah J. Maas but am still in the beginning of the first book, starts very good though πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. I had eighteen 5 star reviews this year, but then I read like every young adult book I could get my hands on. I haven’t read any of the books on your list but most of them are on my want to read list especially Throne of Glass, Raven Boys and Night Circus.

    Like

  3. I loved Crown of Midnight and Heir of Fire! Both made my list, too πŸ™‚ I’ve become a little (ok, VERY) obsessed with the Throne of Glass series! The wait for book four will be very tough to get through. I just finished up The Raven Boys a couple days ago, and I can’t wait to continue on with the series! So glad you loved Blue Lily, Lily Blue πŸ˜€ Great list!

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I’m at the beginning of Throne of Glass right now… still not sure it’s a “me” book, but everyone LOVES that series, so I am hoping it gets better for me. I’ve also heard a lot about The Winner’s Curse… perhaps I should check that one out, too.

    Like

    • I have an interesting relationship with Throne of Glass. I read it a couple of years ago and gave it four stars, but then when I revisited it before I started Crown of Midnight, I was completely blown away. I will say that the series does improve in terms of character development and world building with the sequels.

      Like

  5. Can I just get all of these? Pretty much everyone except The Naturals is on my wishlist and they all sound fantastic despite being outside of my usual genres. I haven’t heard much about The Naturals or it’d probably be there too. Oh wait! I don’t need Pride and Prejudice. I’ve already read that one! So I only want 9. That’s perfectly reasonable right?

    Liked by 1 person

  6. I loved The Ocean at the End of the Lane! Very cool that you included a re-read of P&P on your list. Doesn’t have to be new to be the best! I ended up with a re-read of a classic in my top 10 too, and should probably aim to do more of these next year.

    Like

  7. I haven’t read any of these yet. Okay, I’ve read half of Pride and Prejudice. Does that count?

    I definitely want to read The Winner’s Curse, and I need to start the Throne of Glass series sometime next year. I guess I should probably read Blue Lily, Lily Blue as well… though I wasn’t that thrilled with The Dream Thieves (I want to find out what happens with the prophecy, though)!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

