Kernels of Nonsense, #13: The Library

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a bimonthly feature where I discuss various book-related topics. Today I will be gushing about the single most necessary place for any bookworm…the library.

I am absolutely in love with the library. To put it simply: it has books there (I asked my nine-year-old nephew to give me a reason why the library is so great and this is what he said, very matter-of-factly).

New books, old books, bad books, good books, all books. All you need is a little floppy card, and the whole world is at your fingertips. It’s like eating a steak dinner and not having to pay for it (also something my nephew said). I don’t know about you, but my bank account cannot possible support my reading habit. If anyone ever bothered to think about reading as an addiction, libraries are by far the most dangerous place for us book addicts. And there is no end to the amount of books the library provides!
some_text

And then there are those books that I want to read, but I’m not sure I want to buy because book buying is such an uncertain transaction. It is tragic that we cannot buy books and have the option to return them if they turn out to be terrible…unless you check them out from the library. The library enables you to do just that.

I have the pleasure of living in a county with a great library system. Several of the libraries in my county take part in a joint effort to provide everyone with the books they want. This means if the library I go to doesn’t carry the book I want, another library will send the book to my library of choice to pick it up. I am constantly reserving books from other libraries and it feels like my birthday whenever I get that phone call telling me I have books ready to pick up.

some_text
Libraries also give me a chance to read books I wouldn’t normally read. Book bloggers are notorious (or should I say famous?) for their book enthusiasm and there are some books that you just have to read if your fellow book bloggers recommend them. Unfortunately, this doesn’t always mean that I want to buy the book and the library is the perfect solution. There are also those times when I read a great book I check out from the library and love it so much I need to own it! And look at that, I can now patiently wait till the paperback version is released and save money instead of buying it in hardback because I have already read it.

With the disappearance of bookstores (a topic for another time), there aren’t many places where a bookworm can go and browse shelf after shelf, frolicking about, singing—okay, maybe not singing (this is a library after all), just happy to be around books. Oh, and how wonderful it is to be in a place full of books! So if you don’t visit your library on a regular basis, I definitely encourage you to do so.

Do you also have a love affair with your library like I do? Do you love browsing the shelves and being filled with delight having so many books at hand? Do you smile just thinking of all those books waiting for you to bring them home? Am I creeping you out with my enthusiasm?

6 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #13: The Library

  1. Oh my gosh yes! I feel exactly the same way about libraries… They’ve always been sort-of like a haven for me and just spending ten minutes reading a book helps me feel better whenever I’m upset 😀 You are definitely NOT creeping me out with your enthusiasm ❤

    Like

  2. I definitely have a love affair with my library, which is even more dangerous because I work there! haha 🙂 It’s great because I don’t have to worry about spending money on books I’m not sure I’ll like. Awesome post!

    Like

  3. I used to love going to the library when I was younger, but now I find that I buy most of my books, because I’m impatient and want to read books as soon as I can get them, and it’s a lot faster to buy books from my local bookshop than to reserve the books I want and then have to wait several weeks before I can read them!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

