The Friday 56, #35: The Scorpio Races

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

“He jerks his head toward me so fast that I have an iron rod out of my pocket before he’s finished his turn. But he wasn’t attacking, merely moving to study me with his good eye.

I trust Corr more than any of them.

I should not trust him at all.”

Maggie Stiefvater’s The Scorpio Races is one of my favorite books. It’s so original with its beastly water horses who tempt the inhabitants of Thisby Island to try and tame them. Every year there is a race and people die, yet year after year the young and desperate take their chance on the beach. I really should reread this book so I can review it, that and just talking about it gets me in a bookish frenzy.

17 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #35: The Scorpio Races

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

