October Fright: Horror Books I Won’t Read

octofriAlthough I like to think of myself as someone who doesn’t shy away from the horror genre, there are just some books that completely terrify me and that I refuse under any circumstance to read. The very thought renders me speechless and by the time I am done with this post, I’m pretty sure I’m going to be checking and double checking all the locks.

1. I watched a lot of scary movies when I was a kid and one that had a really profound effect on me was Stephen King’s It. The thought that there was some clown down in the sewer made me stay clear of those drains because the last thing I wanted was to hear my name.

2. Second on my list of books I won’t touch is any horror book featuring alien abduction. This is simply horrifying. I don’t care what anyone says if I was faced with a choice between ghosts being real or aliens, I’d choose ghosts. I don’t do fictional alien abduction stories and I definitely don’t do non-fiction. This book cover makes it look like the alien is smiling at me. Oh gosh, it’s smiling at me.

3. This list is going to take a very serious turn as I am about to confess my greatest fear to you: Pinhead. No villain, no monster, no boogieman excites a level of fear within me like him (yes, I am purposefully not typing his name again). You ever hear of people being frightened to death? Well, if he showed up at my door, I would die of fright. Apparently the movie is based on Clive Barker’s The Hellbound Heart and there is no way I would ever read it. Ever.

4. Cannibalism. I don’t do cannibalism. Thinking about it makes me ill, so never ask me to read a book involving this practice.

5. And because I would really like to end on a lighter note after composing this list, I’m going to mention how much I dislike the original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I know it’s a weird to be scared of the movie and I know most people love it, but when I watched it as a kid, I was terrified. I still will not watch it and that means the book is out of the question.

Are there any horror books that you refuse to read? Have you read any of the books on my list? Are they as petrifying as I am imagining them to be?

19 thoughts on “October Fright: Horror Books I Won’t Read

  1. I really don’t do horror. I’m a sook with violence, particularly when it comes to movies. I do want to give Stephen King a shot one day though, but I’m not sure what things, other than animal cruelty, would really tip me over the edge.
    I liked Charlie and the Chocolate Factory! The original movie was creepy though, I can see why it’s scarred you for life- especially with the tunnel scene! I’m still a bit scared of Snow White, with the whole cutting out her heart and eating it thing!

    Like

  2. I remember watching “It” in my late teens, but it hardly had the affect that “The Exorcist” did *shivers* I still cannot get over the fact that my momma allowed me watch such a disturbing flick. . .and I was only seven at the time! Ew!

    Still, “It” was creepy. . .and wrong in so many ways! I had a traumatizing encounter with the film “The Ring,” and since then, I have steered away from reading and watching films that induce horror because of it; great post! 🙂

    Like

    • I think age plays a tremendous role because I don’t think I watched The Exorcist until I was a lot older and though scary in its own right, it does not feel me with the kind of dread I feel when I think of Pennywise. Really most of the scary movies I’ve watched are from when I was a kid and I really don’t know how I got away with it.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I loved all of your answers! Especially It by Stephen King. I have never read the book nor watched the movie but I hear it’s absolutely terrifying. On most days I stay away from horror books like the plague because I’m easily frightened. I’m the worst person to watch a horror movie with!
    I have to say though, maybe -just maybe!- you could give Charlie and the Chocolate Factory a try? I loved the movie and the book -it was an easy read! But I can see why you were scared by the movie. 🙂

    Like

    • Usually those who are easily scared are the best people to watch a horror movie with. It sounds like I’m pulling your leg, but I’m really not. And the only way I can think of that would make me read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory is if my nine-year-old nephew recommends it to me. I’ll do it for the children, but no one else!

      Like

  4. I don’t read much horror. I have read Charlie and the Chocolate Factory and enjoyed it, but I totally get the being creeped out by something as a kid and just never getting over it. Ghostbusters scared me to death.

    Like

  5. the book IT is waaaay scarier than the movie (which was terrifying enough in its own right). The other one that really freaked me out by Stephen King was Pet Sematary (Zelda *shivers*). In that instance the film is ten times scarier than the book. 😮

    Pinhead is a freaky dude as well, all the Cenobites are really.

    Great post!!

    Like

    • Oh gosh, now I’m glad I’ve never read It! I have no idea how I ended up watching Hellraiser when I was younger, but I haven’t seen it since and go out of my way to avoid even looking at the movie posters.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

