October Fright: Childhood Haunts

octofri When I was growing up, I watched a lot of scary movies and TV shows. I remember watching Tales from the Crypt, The Blair Witch Project, and So Weird. It was a time when Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? were really popular and all it took to scare your little brother was a frightened stare directed just behind his shoulder. So in honor of Halloween I thought I’d take a walk down memory lane and spotlight the books that defined horror for me as a child. These days it’s hard to find a book that truly freaks me out; I suppose I’ve become hardhearted in my old age. But these books frightened the heck out of me when I was a kid.

I really wish I would have kept my copies of these chilling books. These were the stories that made my imagination run wild. It was also the stories I used to read aloud to my brother to freak him out (I was only slightly sadistic). I distinctly remember one story in which a kid is asleep in bed when he suddenly hears a voice coming from downstairs. The voice begins to recount every step he takes, which brings him closer and closer to the kid. “I’m on the fifth step…I’m on the last step…I’m standing outside your room…I’m right by your bed.” It gave me the chills and had quite an impact on my decision to close my bedroom door at night.


No walk down memory lane would be completely without mentioning R.L. Stine. I’m sure most kids who grew up during the 90s were exposed to him one way or another. From his Goosebumps books to the T.V. show to his Fear Street series. These are the two books I can actually remember reading (which is saying something because I really have an awful memory). I am not ashamed to admit that I am now afraid of ventriloquist dummies and will never own a canopy bed.

 

Which horror books do you remember from your childhood? And I have one last question for you…
6 thoughts on “October Fright: Childhood Haunts

  1. I used to love Goosebumps books! I remember one about an evil piano teacher, it scared me off ever learning piano (kind of regret that decision)
    I remember a ghost story I read when I was 8, no idea what it was called or about anymore, but it scared the pants off me!

    Like

    • My nephew was scared of Scooby Doo too, so it isn’t unheard of. You know what movie used to freak me out when I was a kid and I still won’t watch it? The original Charlie and the Chocolate Factory. I just don’t trust him!

      Like

  2. I remember those scary story books too. I think i may even have them packed away somewhere. Goosebumps was also a hit with me and my sister. Thanks for reminding me of some good ol’ classics.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

