Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Popular Books I Don’t Like

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s topic: “Top Ten Books That Were Hard For Me To Read (because difficult of book, subject matter, because it was cringeworthy– however you want to interpret).” So this week I’m listing books that were difficult for me to get through because I disliked them for various reasons. Prepare yourself because these books are quite popular (just not with me). Each of these has received a one-star rating from me on Goodreads and a few also have one-star reviews on my blog.

Ten Popular Books I Don’t Like:

Which books have you found difficult to get through?

24 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Popular Books I Don’t Like

  1. I found Insurgent (the sequel to Divergent) by Veronica Roth really hard to get through. The entire trilogy in general was not really my favorite, but that book in particular was just quite slow and filled with Tris having emotional break downs. At least the other two had more action!

    Like

    • I haven’t picked up the second or third book in this trilogy because (1) it doesn’t seem like too many people enjoyed them compared to the first and (2) the ending was already spoiled for me.

      Like

  2. I can definitely understand why you’re not a fan of Across the Universe. That one definitely isn’t a favourite of mine. I’ll admit though, I enjoyed both Amy and Roger and Rebel Kingdoms quite a lot!

    Like

    • With Falling Kingdoms it was a matter of not being able to get past a character’s feelings for a particular other character. With Amy and Roger, I enjoyed it but there was this one scene between the two that completely ruined the whole book for me. Oh well, to each her own.

      Like

  3. The only book I’ve read here was Inhuman, and that one I actually liked. I didn’t even know it was considered “popular.” I haven’t read any of the others but I know what it’s like to dislike those popular books. I feel that way about a few. Thanks for checking out my Top Ten.

    Like

  4. I haven’t read it myself, but I’ve heard from others that The Discovery of Witches is a tough one to get through, which is probably why I haven’t been inclined to pick it up yet. Great list!

    Like

  5. I am running the Book Blog awards this year and wanted to let you know nominations have been extended and are now open until october 12th. There are 13 awards up for grabs. You may nominate your own blog or ask your readers to nominate you. Readers vote on November 15th.

    Please leave a comment on my blog or tweet me @emancipatedmimi to get the badge to add to your site. You may use it to encourage your readers to vote for your blog on Nov 15th. The awards are intended to be fun and exciting, and get your blog some exposure as well. Hope you will join =) I’m usually on twitter so tweet me anytime with questions or comments =)

    official announcement video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hA0Utyx6hMI
    NOMINATE here: http://docs.google.com/forms/d/1LJfSPMYlHSND3LZAypVoNak-nt67jeW5UHfjU6_GyHo/viewform

    VOTE HERE on Nov 15: http://docs.google.com/forms/d/1jAz1fJ-30YuNZvijMm0JN6rxj_yhjSU7rVqSIZFlOtI/viewform?edit_requested=true

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

