The Friday 56, #27: Dear Killer

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

“‘You’re barely older than me,’ I said accusingly. ‘And I’m smart.’

‘Smart has nothing to do with it. Murder is brutal, horrible–too much for you to handle.’

I resisted the urge to laugh.”

I simply had to pick up Katherine Ewell’s Dear Killer the moment I heard the protagonist was a serial killer. I’m not crazy, I promise. And while there are plenty of negative reviews for this book, but I really enjoyed it.

From my review:

“Kit Ward is continuing a tradition that started with her mother. When most mothers were teaching their daughters how to do their hair, imparting confidence, and letting them use lipstick for the first time, Kit’s mother was teaching her how to kill a person with her bare hands. Years later, Kit has perfected her mother’s methods and is notoriously known as the Perfect Killer. But Kit isn’t like other serial killers, she’s a people-pleaser. Those angry enough to seek murder as a solution to their problems write letter to the Perfect Killer requesting her services. When Kit recieves a request to kill someone she knows, she sees it as a challenge. What Kit doesn’t realize is this new endeavor will put her on a path that will cause her to question her identity as the Perfect Killer.” Read my full review here.

19 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #27: Dear Killer

  1. I love the protagonist being a serial killer. Serial killer books are my absolute FAVES! Makes me think this could be like Dexter, only we have a bad-to-the-bone female. I LOVE it. WHEW, just got back. I added it to my Amazon wish list and my TBR on Goodreads. When I saw the author’s photo, I thought, “she’s too pretty to have such ugly thoughts.” Just goes to show, you can’t judge a book by it’s cover. LOL
    sherry @ <a href="sherry @ My Friday 56

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

