Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Underrated Books

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt: “Top Ten Underrated Authors or Books in X genre.” I’m not sure I can come up with ten underrated books in a specific genre, so I’m just going to broaden this topic and list ten book I believe are underrated (either their Goodreads rating does not reflect their awesomeness or they are not as popular as they ought to be).

Top Ten Underrated Books:

1. Dragonswood by Janey Lee Carey. Tess. Garth Huntsman. Dragons. Fae. More people need to read this wonderful book.

2. Chime by Franny Billingsley. Another underrated fantasy novel that is beautifully written.

3. Shug by Jenny Han. I love this little coming-of-age book. It has more depth than many books featuring older protagonists.

4. Brightly Woven by Alexandra Bracken. Her Darkest Minds series is really popular, but I never got past the first book; this earlier book of hers deserves more praise in my opinion.

5. Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore. A family of witches. Enough said, go read it.

6. I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter. I love this series which features a tight group of girl friends which is not something you see often in YA books. There is a lot of girl-power going on in this series.

7. The Space Between Trees by Katie Williams. This book has a pretty low Goodreads rating that I really don’t understand. So just ignore it and pick it up anyways.

8. Pride and Prejudice and Zombies by Jane Austen and Seth Grahame-Smith. This reworking of the classic that includes zombies is so much fun I cannot figure out why it is rated so low.

9. The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson. This series is amazing! This first book is rated pretty low compared to the other two, so just so you know, most of those people are wrong.

10. Undercover by Beth Kephart. This little gem is a lyrical beauty which always inspires me to pick up my own pen and write until there is nothing left inside me.

What books did you list this week?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Underrated Books

    • The cover for the Ally Carter books kept me from picking it up for so long, but I gave in one day when I had nothing to read and it was the only book at the library I knew about. And I am so happy I gave it a chance.

      Girl of Fire and Thorns is one of my favorite series. I know you’ve been on the fence about the Throne of Glass series and you mentioned you weren’t too into heavy fantasy, so of the two Girl of Fire and Thorns is definitely the lighter fantasy.

      Like

  1. I’m a huge fantasy lover so I’ve read all the fantasy titles on this list! Yay! ::Pats self on back:: I remember Undercover coming out back in the day, and adding it to my Amazon Wishlist. I’m re-excited to read that book 🙂

    Like

  2. I was SO CLOSE to putting Texas Gothic on my list! I haven’t come across anyone else who’s read it and I loved all of the witchi-ness in it and how different members of the family took different approaches to their powers. Great list!

    Like

  3. I LOVE that you said “most of those people are wrong”! THAT is how you know someone loved a book! Adding it, based on that alone. Great list! (Also, I think this may be my first time visiting your blog, and your blog name makes me smile. I kind of adore it, especially with the fancy font.)

    Like

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favorite TTT Topics | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

