Kernels of Nonsense, #7: The Book-Buying Ban

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is weekly feature on my blog in which I discuss various book-related topics. Just a heads-up, I won’t be posting this feature next week (September 6th) due to a very busy schedule ahead of me. Today’s post will tackle the importance and difficulty of the book-buying ban.

Sometimes you just have to say no. Sometimes saying no is very, very difficult.

I find that blogging has made me want to buy more books and buying more books is exactly what I’ve been doing. Bloggers’ enthusiasm is simply infectious and tumblr makes it even worse for me by posting pictures of the most beautiful books you’ve ever seen. But there comes a time when you must recognize you have a problem and then you must do something about it. And so, even though it hurts just a little, I must go on a book-buying ban.

For the month of September I will be on a book-buying ban. Strictly speaking, this means that I am not allowed to buy any books during the month of September (I do have a couple of pre-ordered books coming in this month which I am not including because I have already purchased them with a gift card and I also have a couple of used books that I bought about a week ago that haven’t been delivered yet). I know what you’re thinking, she’s already making excuses!

I’ve noticed the number of books on my bookshelf that I haven’t read has been increasing little by little for the past few months. And for me, buying a book without reading it is a horrible waste of money. And how wasteful I’ve been!


I’m going to take this opportunity to talk myself into it. Just because you don’t buy a book doesn’t mean that you can’t read it. Not buying any books doesn’t even mean that you will be reading less. In fact, the library is a wonderful place to get books for free. You can read a book without worrying that you are paying for something that may not be worth it. And after you read it, you can wait till it goes on sale and buy it if you loved it so much.  O, library, how I love thee!

Behold, my pledge:

I, Alicia, pledge not to buy any books in the month of September, no matter how much I might want to, no matter how pretty the book may be, no matter how great a deal it is. I will be strong, I will read my own books and put an absurd amount of books on hold at the library (Did you know there is a limit to the number of holds you can have at once? Who knew?), but I will not reach into my wallet with the intention of buying a new book.

Apparently no one I’ve told has any faith in me because they’ve either laughed (I’m serious, there was actual snickering) or basically said they’ll believe it when they see it. The audacity! Wish me luck. And to anyone who is on their own book-buying ban, stay strong.

Are you currently on a book-buying ban? Have you found it to be difficult? Any tips you have for me for surviving the month of September?

10 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #7: The Book-Buying Ban

  1. I wish you luck. I’m constantly on a book-buying ban at the moment, although I think I’ve managed to two months so far. Woooo! Well, apart from second-hand books from charity shops – that totally doesn’t count right!?

    Like

    • It’s not even September and I already have a few scenarios floating around in my head that involve second-hand bookstores and the suspension of the book-buying ban, so I am not be the best person to answer such a question.

      Like

  2. I had to put the brake on buying books at the beginning of summer and while the first two months are difficult, the library does suffice. I live in a small town so there aren’t many holds on the latest books, but still, it’s hard. Granted, I did find Scarlet, Cress, The Book Thief, and the Angelfall series at the library; that’s a big deal ha ha! Good luck on your pledge! 🙂

    Like

    • I love all of those books! I’m fortunate to live in a place with a really good library system, so if my library doesn’t have a book I can still reserve it from another library in the county. This is what I keep reminding myself.

      Like

  3. I really must do this, but alas, I am weak.
    With a grudge against my local library. And a uni library with no books I want to read, but 10 copies of Twilight…. nup.
    Do free ebooks count as book buying?
    Good luck!!

    Like

  4. I wrote about my attempts recently – http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/27/book-buying-bans-and-me/

    Top tips for survival – you can do this, it’s not the end of the world, enjoy reading what you have and the satisfaction of lowering your TBR pile, stay away from all other blogs during September – especially STS and TTT posts (I’m only half kidding!), have an online cart with some goodies in it so you’re virtually shopping – depriving yourself from browsing won’t work either, and add books you’ve wanted FOREVER but never got around to buying. The day your ban is up, treat yourself for being good, but set a cash limit, and hunt for deals to ease the guilt 🙂

    Like

    • Wonderful tips! I already added more books this morning to my TBR list thanks to TTT. But just because they are on my list doesn’t mean I have to buy them. See, I can be logical. I’ve already decided that I can either buy one new book or three used books when my book buying ban is over. It’s something I’m really looking forward to.

      Like

  5. I am on a book buying ban at the moment, a) because I’m short on money and b) because my TBR pile is at 9 books, and I never buy new books when my TBR pile is close to ten. The pile has to shrink a little before new books can be bought, no matter how sad that is for me!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

