Book Haul: August’s Book Buys

Book Haul (1)

One of these days my book haul for the month will be no books, but not today. I’m still pretty proud of the restraint I showed this month. Most of the books I bought this month were used, so they didn’t thrown me into a state of panic afterward. Of course I’m not counting the books I’ve pre-ordered for September. Shh, don’t tell anyone.

IMG_20140818_142828New books I’ve purchased this month:

1. Emma by Jane Austen. This is the only Jane Austen book I haven’t read and about a month ago I picked up my very old copy to read it and it literally fell apart in my hands. So I had to get a new copy and my goodness, I never realized how big this book was.

2. Fiendish by Brenna Yovanoff. I love me a good scary book and I really enjoyed her Paper Valentine book.

3. The Strange and Beautiful Sorrows of Ava Lavender by Leslye Walton. I can thank tumblr for recommending this one.

And let’s take a moment and admire these two book covers:

IMG_20140818_143013

IMG_20140818_142909 Used books I’ve purchased this month:

4. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon. I’m still not sure if I will be reading this, but there it was super cheap at my library’s used bookstore, so I picked it up anyway.

5. The Blind Assassin by Margaret Atwood. Another spur of the moment buy, because why not?

6. Storm Glass by Maria V. Snyder. I need to read more books by this wonderful author.

7. The Space Between by Brenna Yovanoff. Another dark read for my liking.

8. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray. I finished this about a week ago and enjoyed it immensely. You can find my review here.

IMG_20140818_142739

That’s all my book purchases for the month of August. What books have you picked up this month?

5 thoughts on “Book Haul: August’s Book Buys

  1. My goodness that is a thick copy of Emma! I just checked mine and it’s about 430 pages long, with essays and things in the front.
    I really did not like Outlander, but I seem to be in the minority. The main woman just made me so cranky!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

