The Friday 56, #23: The Catcher in the Rye

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.

*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it.

*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

“Old Mrs. Morrow didn’t say anything, but boy, you should’ve seen her. I had her glued to her seat. You take somebody’s mother, all they want to hear about is what a hot-shot their son is.

Then I really started chucking the old crap around. ‘Did he tell you about the elections?'”

The Catcher in the Rye by J. D. Salinger features the one and only Holden Caulfield: angsty, cynical, tends to call people phonies, a bit of a compulsive liar…depressed, anxious, honest. What I like most about this book is that the protagonist’s voice is so distinct, I wouldn’t blink if Holden turned out to be real person.

19 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #23: The Catcher in the Rye

  1. I just wondered how old Holden would be if he were real and still alive! I enjoyed this book when I was an angsty teen. Happy reading!

    Like

    • I first read this when I was a teen too. It’s the kind of book that you can only get when your that age and vulnerable and angry. Once you get older, you kind of want to slap Holden around a few times.

      Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

