Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week’s prompt: “Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read (books you may have bought but aren’t sure if you are into it anymore, books you wanted to read but heard mixed things about, hyped books you aren’t sure about — basically any book that has you going, ‘TO READ OR NOT TO READ?'” As a blogger, you come across a lot of enthusiastic readers and it’s hard not to get caught up in their enthusiasm. These are the books I’ve seen praised so much, but haven’t picked up and am very much on the fence about them. Feel free to try and convince me 😉 

Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want to Read:

Which books are you on the fence about?

40 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books I’m Not Sure I Want To Read

  1. Of these books, I have read and really enjoyed and/or loved:

    Mara Dyer 1
    Gone Girl (oh my god plot twists everywhere!! my review is here: http://thebookheap.wordpress.com/2014/08/08/94-gone-girl-gillian-flynn/#more-1102)

    Percy Jackson series- the first two books are a little…well childish because they are middle grade and he is 11 when it starts, a bit like HP- but it gets SO GOOD. I can’t believe the final heroes of olympus comes out this year!

    Like

  2. I don’t own them yet, but I fully plan to buy and binge the Mara series. Vampire Academy is one I’m just avoiding, I know everyone loves them, but there’s like 10 books in that series, right? le sigh. The Lightning Thief made my list today too. Anna and the French Kiss (and anything by Stephanie Perkins) is rec’d to me all. the. time. I hate the covers, and the story seems so immature, but yet everyone seems to love them. I will pick them up eventually I’m sure, I’m just not going out of my way to get them. The Summer I Turned Pretty series is on my TBR, but again I’m not dying about them (I own a scary number of unread books and I need to get through em first!). Outlander has RAVE reviews but I hate the cover and it’s HUGE. Read Gone Girl – just do it. Made me frustrated as hell sometimes but I fricking LOVE it. Panic is on my radar because it’s Lauren Oliver, but meh.

    My TTT: http://confessionsofabookgeek.wordpress.com/2014/08/12/top-ten-tuesday-books-that-give-me-indecisive-syndrome/

    Like

    • I’m not sure I will read the whole Mara Dyer series or Perkins but at the very least I’ll probably give the first books a try. Another glowing recommendation for Gone Girl, so I will definitely pick that one up.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. I’ve read a couple of your picks. Anna and the French Kiss was just adorable. I loved it. Percy Jackson starts off a bit slow, but from the third book onwards it’s amazing. I’ve read and liked The Vampire Academy, but I never continued the series after the first book. I wasn’t sure. And I also heard there was a love triangle. I don’t want to read The Summer I Turned Pretty because of the same reason. My friends tell me that the Mara Dyer books are amazing, so I’m just waiting for the last book to be released so that I can read them all together. Even I have the Lux series by JLA, but I’m not sure about that either. Too many mixed reviews.
    Here’s my TTT

    Like

    • If VA has a long-winded love triangle, then I will probably skip it. It sounds like The Summer I Turned Pretty will leave me just as frustrated, so that might be out. Thank you so much for letting me know ☺.

      Like

  4. ANNA, ANNA, ANNA! I know the covers are horrid (they have new covers now that are much more pleasing on the eyes), and the book sounds immature, but it’s truly not. It’s the best YA book I’ve ever read and I recommend it to everyone.

    I loved the first Mara book – but this was a case of not having the rest of the series available to read because they get released with too much time in between books. Then I forget what happened and I get mad about it. So, I refuse to finish the series. The first book is really good, though.

    My TTT

    Like

    • Don’t you hate it when you have to wait over a year to read the second or third book in a series? If it’s a series I love, I don’t mind going back and revisiting the old books, but if it was good or even pretty good and I can’t seem to remember what happened in the previous books, I end up dropping the series altogether.

      Okay, your enthusiasm has made me want to read Anna and the French Kiss. I’m adding it to my TBR list.

      Like

  5. I really enjoyed the Percy Jackson series. If you like Greek Mythology I say check it out. I’m interested in reading Gone Girl but I’m considering watching the movie first. As for In the Woods, I have a friend that really likes the series and I have the first two books but have not picked it up yet, and I’m not sure why. Great list!

    Like

  6. I’m with you on Outlander and probably Anna and the French Kiss though I haven’t admitted that to myself. I’m not sure I can handle romance in YA form – I have kids that age! Definitely not where I want my brain to go. I do want to read Percy Jackson but since I haven’t made the slightest move to pick one up and my daughter owns the entire series who knows if I’ll actually ever read it.

    Like

    • I think a lot of people clung to Percy after Harry ended, but I wasn’t one of them so I’m not sure about it. Outlander is raved about so much and I want to know if it’s as good as everyone says, but I’m afraid I might be disappointed.

      Like

  7. I loved most of the books on here that I’ve read. I’m a huge VA fan (although like the spinoff series, Bloodlines, a little more) and quite liked Percy Jackson after I got into it. The first book read a little young for me but by the time I got to the 4th – really good.
    Obsidian isn’t my favourite but it’s entertaining.
    As for Anna and the French Kiss – it’s such a great book. It’s a little fluffy and romantic but it’s deeper than you might expect. Don’t count the horrible title/cover against it!

    Like

  8. Ha! I have a ton of these in my TBR right now. They don’t make my TTT list, though, because I do still plan to get to all of them one day soon. (Vampire Academy and Outlander sooner than the others.)

    Like

  9. I high suggest Anna and the French Kiss and The Lightning Thief! Anna is such a fun and cute read and The Percy Jackson series just gets better and better as you read on 🙂

    Here’s my TTT 🙂

    Like

  10. Here’s a vote for both Anna & the French Kiss and Vampire Academy! Anna’s a very relatable narrator, and both she and Etienne felt flawed and real. (I was not as big a fan of Lola & the Boy Next Door, in large part because I didn’t like the character of Lola very much, but that’s a different story.) And I’m not normally crazy about vampires, but VA is one of those series that’s high on entertainment value. It’s super readable, too – I binge-read several of them!

    Like

  11. I hope you’ll give Stephanie Perkins’s books a try. While I didn’t love Anna and the French Kiss, I absolutely adored Lola and the Boy Next Door so if you aren’t feeling Anna… then jump right next to Lola… 🙂 The Unbecoming of Mara Dyer has been on my radar for a long time but haven’t gotten around to getting myself a copy. It sounds angst-y and I’m not sure I can handle too much angst at the moment. 🙂 Thanks for sharing and for stopping by my TTT 🙂

    Like

  12. I LOVED Anna and the French Kiss and Percy Jackson! Although, admittedly, I’ve only read the first PJ book and I’ve been meaning to read the rest fooorever, just haven’t gotten around to it. Or felt very inspired. I didn’t like Panic. 😐 It was way too meh for me and I didn’t connect to any of the characters, except perhaps the cranky tigers. I’m concerned for VA too because of the insane hype at the moment!
    Thanks for stopping by mine. 🙂

    Like

  13. Didn’t like the Tana French book and HATED Gone, Girl. If you can get through the first VA book, the rest of the series is really good. The maturity in the writing improves. I have Mara Dyer and need to finish that. I liked the 1st 2 books in the Jenny Han Summer trilogy but thought the 3rd one was a bit too far-fetched.

    Like

    • Yeah, I probably won’t buy either of the first two you mentioned but might just check them out from the library. I think I’m going to skip the summer series because I don’t usually seek out love triangles.

      Like

  14. I do recommend Vampire Academy, Percy Jackson, and Anna and the French Kiss. They’re all great books!

    Don’t bother with Panic. Lauren Oliver has written some great things, but Panic is not one of them.

    Like

  15. Vampire Academy may seem like a long series, but it is so worth it. I absolutely love those books (and the Bloodlines ones). Rose is an amazing heroine. I recommend at least trying the first first one and even the second (the series gets better and better with each book). The Percy Jackson series is such a good one. Very fun. Anna and the French Kiss is one of the best books I’ve read all year. It’s an amazing contemporary romance.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

