The Friday 56, #22: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:
*Grab a book, any book.
*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.
*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.
*Post it.
*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

 

“Adults follow paths. Children explore. Adults are content to walk the same way, hundred of times, or thousands; perhaps it never occurs to adults to step off the paths, to creep beneath rhododendrons, to find the spaces between fences.”

The Ocean at the End of the Lane is my third Neil Gaiman book and by far my favorite.

From my review:

“When a death brings a man back to his childhood home, he finds himself drawn to the house of the girl who once lived down the lane from him. As he reminisces about the suicide that brought him into acquaintance with one Lettie Hemstock, other memories begin to resurface. The Ocean at the End of the Lane is a story of a boy who stumbles upon a world where fanciful happenings are the norm and cunning monsters are real.” You can find my full review here.

21 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #22: The Ocean at the End of the Lane

  1. I actually haven’t read any Neil Gaiman yet but I love this beginning! Although I’m planning on reading ‘Stardust’ first, I definitely have this one on my radar. The beginning is just so insightful. Where does this man get his inspiration from? I’m checking out your review next! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday post
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

  2. I have this and now I feel it’s time to dust it off and get reading. Great excerpt. I’ve heard all good things about this book. Thanks for stopping by my 56 and have a great weekend:)

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

