Kernels of Nonsense, #3: Book Snobbery

Kernels of Nonsense (2)Kernels of Nonsense is a weekly feature on my blog where I discuss various book-related topics. As always, feel free to comment.

I read a lot of YA books, despite no longer being in my teens. In fact, I read more YA books now than I ever did when I was a teenager. If you’re like me, you’ve probably come across a person or two who scoff at your choice of reading material. They’re the ones who find it silly to read a young adult or children’s book. After all they’re far too mature to dip their toe into such frivolous and inferior literature.

What a dreadful thing to limit yourself!

I am not tall, I am not blond, I am not rich, I am not sweet, I am not a boy, I am not loud, I am not in love with my best friend. I’ve never had feelings for two people at once, I’ve never had a whirlwind romance while overseas. No one has ever tried to murder me, I don’t have lantent psychic abilities (that I know of). I don’t believe in aliens, witchcraft, or fairies. I’ve never shot a bow and arrow, I’ve never thrown a punch (my anger is expressed in a more linguistic manner), or wielded a katana. But for a few hours while I read I can be any or all of these things.

The point of reading is to walk in someone else’s shoes, to see things from their perspective, to know the woes and joys of someone not myself. Sometimes this means I’m a sage old woman searching for a lost locket. At other times I am a child just beginning to see the wisdom of his mother. And still other times I am a teen, tasting the bliss and bite of first love. I don’t limit my experiences based on my own age. Some of my very favorite books were written for children and this does not minimize their brilliance.

What always troubles me is that those who look down on novels written from the perspective of young adults or children seem to forget that these books were not actually written by a young protagonist. Behind young adult literature are adults who understand the importance of writing from a young person’s perspective and that their point-of-view can be just as important as an adult’s. Do these people not remember what it was like to be a young and have their opinion dismissed simply because of their age? Surely they must remember the sting, but it seems that too many adults have become that which they despised.

What a sad thing to say we can no longer enjoy children’s stories because we are no longer children. Stories are most potent when you are a child. Your imagination is limitless. The feel of the monster’s eyes is more real, the terror that something is in the closet doesn’t feel like make-believe, the sound of breathing does not disappear because you will it. Stories are infinitely more tangible, and books that you cannot fall wholly into are not half as enjoyable.

So don’t ever feel that because you are now an adult, young adult books or children’s books are off-limits. I find that these books can be the most magical and the most rewarding to read.

I leave you with this quote by C.S. Lewis, who is far better at conveying what I wish to say than I will ever be:

“Critics who treat ‘adult’ as a term of approval, instead of as a merely descriptive term, cannot be adult themselves. To be concerned about being grown up, to admire the grown up because it is grown up, to blush at the suspicion of being childish; these things are the marks of childhood and adolescence. And in childhood and adolescence they are, in moderation, healthy symptoms. Young things ought to want to grow. But to carry on into middle life or even into early manhood this concern about being adult is a mark of really arrested development. When I was ten, I read fairy tales in secret and would have been ashamed if I had been found doing so. Now that I am fifty I read them openly. When I became a man I put away childish things, including the fear of childishness and the desire to be very grown up.”

7 thoughts on “Kernels of Nonsense, #3: Book Snobbery

  1. I only occasionally read YA books, but not because of book snobbery. I read the blurbs of the books I choose, and decide to read a book because something about the premise grabs me.

    I recently read and enjoyed The Fault in Our Stars…and before that, I enjoyed Perks of Being a Wallflower.

    This past week, I read a book that is probably YA, since the primary characters were teenagers: We Were Liars. I enjoyed that.

    So I guess you could say that I don’t read YA very often, but when I do, it’s because something about the book appeals to me.

    Like

  2. I’m not a huge fan of YA books but I think a lot of the reason is because I have children who are the same age as most of the characters in YA books. It’s hard for me to turn the parent voice off and I don’t tend to connect with the book. That being said I have thoroughly enjoyed going back and reading children’s books like The Secret Garden and have a big list of books like that I want to get to!

    Like

    • I love revisiting books from my childhood! I can see why it might feel a little odd to read books your children might read if they’ve reached their teens. Are your kids big readers like you?

      Like

  3. I did an article about this for my school newspaper because it annoys me as well, although I’m at an age where it’s probably just about “socially acceptable” for me to still be reading YA, but I will read it for as long as it interests me, no matter what other people think. I also think it’s a great shame to limit yourself on what you can read.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Pingback: Kernels of Nonsense, #29: I’m a Bookish Snob | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

