Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic we cover is Ten Authors I Own the Most Books From. I’m going to change this up a little bit and list the Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From. This list ended up being really informative for me. This is a topic that I’ve rarely thought about because these days when I select books to read, it’s not usually based on who has written them.

Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From:

1. Ted Dekker. I used to be obsessed with everything he wrote and devoured almost his entire collection of novels. Current count: 21.

2. Juliet Marillier. I pretty much love everything she writes. She’s probably the reason I love fantasy so much. If it’s written by her, I will read it. Current count: 11.

3. Ally Carter. I am big fan of Ally Carter’s Gallagher Girls series and don’t think she gets enough credit for how she took a silly story of spy-in-training fumbling over herself because she isn’t sure how to deal with first love and turned it into a high-risk, coming-of-age tale of a girl forced to accept she’ll never be normal. Current count: 9.

4. J.K. Rowling. Of course she is going to be on a lot of lists this week. Bless her and her creation of Harry Potter. Current count: 7.

5. Cassandra Clare.  I devoured her The Mortal Instruments books when they first came out, but oddly enough didn’t finish the series. I kind of just lost interest, that and I felt The Infernal Devices series left a lot to be desired. Current count: 6

6. Jane Austen. I love Jane Austen, especially Pride & Prejudice. Strangely enough, I haven’t read Emma yet. I feel like I know the story since I’ve seen like every adaptation (even Clueless), but haven’t gotten a chance to finish the book. I recently picked it up with the intention of reading it, but the copy I have is quite old and ended up falling apart in my hands. Current count: 5.

7. Sarah Dessen. I used to love her books before I kind of distanced myself from contemporary novels. Nowadays it’s rare to catch me reading this genre. Current count: 5.

8. Jonathan Maberry. I love his zombie series, Benny Imura, but he also has an adult series beginning with Patient Zero, which is also pretty awesome. Even more awesome is when his main character in one makes an appearance in the other. Current count: 5.

9. Patrick Ness. The Chaos Walking Trilogy is in my top three favorite series ever. I love it so much, but I’m never good at explaining what it is about. Whenever I try, I get either blank stares or really strange ones. Let me try it here: boy lives in town with no women because they all died, men’s thoughts can be heard, animals’ thoughts can also be heard, boy is looking forward to becoming a man, one day boy discovers silence in the form of a girl, but crazy preacher guy tries to…oh wait, I don’t want to give it away. Just go read the series. Current count: 5.

10. Maggie Stiefvater. I love The Raven Cycle series and The Scorpio Races. I almost didn’t read either of these because I wasn’t a big fan of the other books she had written. But I gave her a second look and am so happy I did. Current count: 5.

Which authors have you read the most books from?

45 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Authors I’ve Read the Most Books From

  1. I loved Pride and Prejudice. Emma is second only to P&P for me. I really enjoyed it and didn’t expect to. Austen’s other books, I’m more neutral toward. I really need to read The Raven Cycle! I’ve seen so many fantastic things mentioned about it. I need to bump it up my TBR list ASAP. Great list!

    Like

  2. Oooh, Juliet Marillier! Love love love her books. I don’t own any of Maggie Stiefvater’s books but I recently read The Raven Boys and The Scorpio Races and thought they were awesome. Glad to see you liked them too! I avoided her books for quite a while too, based on the fact that I was totally turned off by her werewolf series. I’m pretty sure Rowling is on pretty much everyone’s list haha. It seems like a lot of people actually own multiple copies of her books, which I think is kind of weird, but who am I to judge?!

    Like

  3. Yes to JK Rowling! I am embarrassed to say that despite really like the Gallagher Girls series I have only read the first two books, I really should finish it. Also I’m planning to read The Raven Boys in October, glad it made your list! Thanks for stopping by y blog and great list!

    Like

  4. Patrick Ness is on my TBR, along with The Raven Cycle (I’ve done the Shiver trilogy). I used to read Sarah Dessen and want to get my hands on a few others. As for Austen, we’ll leave my lack of commitment to the classics out of it… though I am doing a readalong of P&P in August!

    Like

  5. Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier! I just finished listening to I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You today. YAY for all the ones we have in common (Maggie S, Jane Austen, JK Rowling, and Cassie Clare)! Great list!
    Sandy @ Somewhere Only We Know

    Like

  6. I randomly bought “Don’t Judge A Girl By Her Cover ” a couple years ago not knowing it was part of a series, and I tried reading it but got so confused so I put it down. Should I read from the start, I’ve seen many positive reviews so I guess I should

    Like

  7. Wow! I didn’t realize some of these authors were so prolific! I’m like you–I don’t pay attention to authors when choosing my next book. And even a step further I try not to read too many books by an author in a short period of time.
    But yes! Thank goodness for Harry Potter!

    Like

    • Either Daugher of the Forest (the first in her Sevenwaters series) or Wildwood Dancing (which has a companion novel), both of them are wonderful but the latter has a more young-adult air if that matters to you (but both are equally beautiful).

      Like

  8. That’s such an awesome way to spin it!! It definitely makes me wonder which authors I’ve read the most from…mm…probably Maggie Stiefvater. I’ve read 7 of her books. And I’ve read 7 from Michael Grant, but 13 from John Flanagan, so, lol, I think he wins! I’m so meaning to finishing the Gallagher Girls series. I’ve only read 3 of them. *hides*

    Like

  9. I really like how you spun this topic because I think it would have changed my list quite a bit and been more reflective of who my favorite authors are, because I use my library card quite a bit. Were the books you didn’t like by Maggie Stiefvater the Wolves of Mercy Falls series?

    Like

  10. +JMJ+
    I like how eclectic your list is! =) When I made my Tenner I was surprised that skewed so heavily toward Romance . . . though as the only expert on my own book-buying habits, I really shouldn’t have been! LOL!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

