Top Ten Tuesday: Deserted Island Comrades

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week the topic is “Top Ten Characters I Would Want With Me On A Deserted Island (pick based on however you want…skills they would bring, their company…or pure hotness factor :P).” While making this list (or while I struggled to make this list), I realized that I don’t read too many survivalist stories, as a result some of my picks are a bit of a stretch, but I’m actually feeling pretty happy with the characters I’ve assembled.

Top Ten Deserted Island Comrades:

The first thing I think of when I contemplate being stranded on a deserted island is the necessity of food, so my first few picks are characters that have hunting experience.

1. Lilah from Jonathan Maberry’sย Dust & Decay. Sure she may be a little crazy from living in the wilderness by herself for years and her favorite hobby may be slaying zombies, but the fact that this girl survived for so long by herself makes me believe she’d be a great asset on the island.

2. Katniss Everdeen from Suzanne Collins’ The Hunger Games. I have a feeling she is going to be a popular pick for this week’s topic. She has experience hunting and I for one am not half as impressived with a bow and arrow.

3. Garth Huntsman from Janet Lee Carey’s Dragonswood. Another character with hunting experience and patient to boot. I’m thinking having someone so level-headed would be wise.

My next priority will be building shelter and although I spend a great deal of time lifting books, I don’t exactly have the muscles to show for it.

4. Stoyan from Juliet Marillier’s Cybele’s Secret. Stoyan is described as very tall, broad shouldered and muscular. I figure Stoyan would be a great help building shelter and perhaps reaching up and getting me a coconut (I’m not very tall either, and Stoyan is a sweetheart.)

5. Tom Imura from Jonathan Maberry’s Rot & Ruin. Also a great man to have around for the heavy-lifting, plus the guy carries around a katana which I think might be very useful if we run into trouble…trying to open said coconut.

I don’t know about you, but I’ve never been stranded on a desert island before and have no idea what to expect. The first thing that crossed my mind was Lord of the Flies.

6. Ralph from Lord of the Flies. One of the few boys who doesn’t fly off the handle in the book, I’d like to have Ralph around for his invaluable experience.

It’s ineveitable that we’ll run into some problems while on the island, and while I have my bases covered should there be danger from mysterious persons, I’d like the comfort of having someone around who knows how to take care of us if we’re ever wounded.

7. Liadan from Juliet Marillier’s Son of the Shadows. A gifted healer, Liaden would be a wonderful member for my team (oooh, I need to give us a name…Team Alicia sounds good) and she’s not bad with a bow and arrow either.

I don’t always want to be stuck on this desert island, so I’m going to need people that can help my team get off it.

8. Ananna from Cassandra Rose Clarke’s The Assassin’s Curse. If we just so happen to come across an abandon ship, I need someone with experience at sea and who better than a pirate?

9. Kestrel from Marie Rutkoski’s The Winner’s Curse. Strong, intelligent, and strategic, Kestrel is an ideal companion should we run into any trouble with say violent local natives, secret militant soldiers, or figuring out a way off of the island altogether.

And last but not least, I have a feeling there is going to be a lot of down time on this island.

10. Gansey from Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Boys because I simply could not resist. Can you imagine seeing Gansey in his polo shirt, cargo shorts, and boat shoes on a desert island? I’m pretty sure I won’t be the only one amused by this and such frivolous hilarity will help boost team morale. And being naturally curious, I’m sure Gansey would lead us into an assortment of trouble but I feel pretty confident in my team that we’d survive.

Which characters have you chosen this week to help you deal with your own deserted island ordeal?

37 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Deserted Island Comrades

  1. I agree with lipsyy — I love what you did with this list! So creative. ๐Ÿ˜€
    2. You were right about Katniss being a popular pick, haha. I’ve seen her on so many other TTTs already, I’m kind of glad I decided to choose Legolas instead. ๐Ÿ˜› Katniss is probably the best chance we have for survival, though, and yep, being kickass with a bow and arrow is definitely a huge plus.
    5. I read a little of Rot & Ruin but just couldn’t get into it because it was too boring >< A shame, because the cover is one of the creepiest I've seen, ever. I might give it another go though, if it has strong guys like Tom. xD
    6. Again, I haven't read Lord of the Flies, but I have it on my shelf and want to read it so badly. Ralph sounds like an interesting character, and mentally strong, too — always an added bonus when it comes to survival on a deserted island. Don't want characters that go batshit crazy, right?
    9. I've heard SO much about The Winner's Curse, and I've seen Kestrel on a couple of TTTs as well! She sounds like an awesome character. Must. Get. Hands. On. Book. Soon.
    10. Actually… I totally can picture that. And even with leaves and brambles in his hair, he'd still look amazing. โค Can you tell I'm a bit too obsessed with him?
    Great list, Alicia!

    Like

    • I think if I had to choose someone from LOTR it would be Aragorn, but Legolas isn’t a bad pick either. The Winner’s Curse is one of my new favs, so you definitely have to read it. And my Gansey pick was the only selfish pick I allowed myself. I’m might have a little crushโ€ฆ

      Like

  2. You put a lot of thought in to this list!! I’ve not heard of a lot of the characters you’ve chosen but from what you’ve written I think you’d be just fine. Love that you included some eye candy, Will Herondale was my pick (as you know,) being stuck on an island would be no fun without someone to look at!!

    Like

  3. Brilliant picks. I can’t believe I forgot about Kestrel! Although, if I am honest, I’d probably pick to have Arin on the island. Katniss is definitely going to be on a ton of lists today, she would just be perfect in that scenario. I would definitely put her on hunting duty. Here’s my TTT.

    Like

  4. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Characters Iโ€™d want with me on a Deserted Island | Sourcerer

  5. Poor Gansey, everyone picks on him… You’re right though, it would be pretty funny to watch him try to adjust.
    I didn’t recognize most of the names you listed off, besides Katniss of course, but I JUST READ THE WINNER’S CURSE TODAY! Kestrel is awesome.

    Like

  6. I’m sure Gansey would easily lead the expedition too. ๐Ÿ˜‰ But you sure have this figured out! (Are you actually WANTING to leave that awesome island?! Come on!) XD

    Like

  7. I have read…exactly one of these books (The Hunger Games) but some of these covers look interesting, and the characters seem neat as well! Guess I’ll have to add a few to my list ๐Ÿ˜‰

    Like

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favorite TTT Topics | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

