A to Z Bookish Survey

A to ZI’ve seen a resurgence of this post going around and thought I’d give it a go. The survey is originally from The Perpetual Page-Turner. Click the link and take part in the fun.

Author you’ve read the most books from:

Ted Dekker. I used to be obsessed with everything he wrote, but have calmed down in recent years. I’ve read 20 of his books.

Best Sequel Ever:

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas or Crown of Embers by Rae Carson or The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stiefvater. I’m so torn but I loved all of these sequels.

Currently Reading:

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson

Drink of Choice While Reading:

I suppose this depends on the weather. If it’s cold, a cup of coffee is perfect. If it’s hot, give me a tall glass of iced tea.

E-reader or Physical Book?

Nothing beats the smell of a book. I can tolerate reading on my tablet, but I find opening a book to be much more enjoyable.

Fictional Character You Probably Would Have Actually Dated In High School:

Richard Cambell Gansey III from Maggie Stiefvater’s The Raven Cycle. Easiest question.

Glad You Gave This Book A Chance:

I’d Tell You I Love You, But Then I’d Have to Kill You by Ally Carter. I was surprised by how much I enjoyed this series and also how much the story altered with each book.

Hidden Gem Book:

Undercover by Beth Kephart.

Important Moment in your Reading Life:

The day I picked up Harry Potter. I feel like my love for books didn’t gain momentum until I got my hands on this series.

Just Finished:

I just finished a book review request: The Unknown Sun by Cheryl S. Mackey.

Kinds of Books You Won’t Read:

Vampires. I think it’s because I picked up a few bad vampire books and never found one I enjoyed, so now I avoid them altogether.

Longest Book You’ve Read:

Jonathan Strange & Mr Norell by Susanna Clarke. It’s a good book, but with 1006 pages, you have to have the patience.

Major book hangover because of:

The Raven Boys and The Dream Thieves by Maggie Stievater. I may still have a hangover.

Number of Bookcases You Own:

Three. I have two tall bookshelves and one smaller one.

One Book You Have Read Multiple Times:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. I’ve read it probably a half dozen times and it just gets better and better.

Preferred Place To Read:

On my bed: a combination of comfort, familiarity and, of course, quiet.

Quote that inspires you/gives you all the feels from a book you’ve read:

“Gansey looked up to them, and she saw in his face that he loved this place. His bald expression held something new: not the raw delight of finding the ley line or the sly pleasure of teasing Blue. She recognized the strange happiness that came from loving something without knowing why you did, that strange happiness that was sometimes so big that it felt like sadness.”

The Raven Boys, Maggie Stiefvater

I feel such an ache whenever I read this.

Reading Regret:

I wish I read more when I was younger. I feel like I missed out on a lot of books. For example, A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle was around when I was younger, but I didn’t pick it up until I was an adult.

Series You Started And Need To Finish (all books are out in series):

Divergent. I’ve only read the first book, but when it exploded in popularity, I just took a step back from it. Also, because people can’t control themselves when it comes to spoilers, I know how the series ends so I’m not super eager to finish it. I’m only a little bitter.

Three of your All-Time Favorite Books:

Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen, The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, and The Raven Boys by Maggie Stiefvater.

Unapologetic Fangirl For:

The Raven Cycle by Maggie Stiefvater. I feel like I’ve mentioned this before, but I have such love for the characters in this series!

Very Excited For This Release More Than All The Others:

Blue Lily, Lily Blue by Maggie Stievater, the third book in The Raven Cycle series. I’m repeating myself, aren’t I? But I’m also looking forward to Heir of Fire by Sarah J. Maas, Mortal Heart by Robin LaFevers, and The Infinite Sea by Rick Yancey.

Worst Bookish Habit:

Buying a sequel for a series, but waiting way too long to read it. Usually this means I end up having to read its predecessor because I’ve waited too long and I have an awful memory.

X Marks The Spot: Start at the top left of your shelf and pick the 27th book:

Chime by Fanny Billingsley, a terribly underrated book.

Your latest book purchase:

The Kiss of Deception by Mary E. Pearson, which I am also currently reading

ZZZ-snatcher book (last book that kept you up WAY late):

Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas, also the last book I gave five stars to.

 

7 thoughts on “A to Z Bookish Survey

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

