Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week bloggers will list Top Ten Blogging Confessions. I wasn’t sure if I should stick to bookish confessions or blogging, so my list is a combo of both. Try not to judge too harshly.

Top Ten Blogging Confessions:

1. I keep all of my library check-out receipts.

recei

2. I can’t start a new book until I’ve finish my review of the previous one.

This usually means I stay up too late writing reviews with far too many grammatical errors.

3. I insist on preordering books…

But then have the urge to hold on to them as long as possible before reading them. Here are some examples that I still haven’t read:

three

4. I’ve set aside three dollars in my wallet.

In anticipation of my library’s book bag sale (in which you fill a plastic grocery store bag with books for $3), I keep the money tucked away because I’m always surprised when the sale comes up.

5. I rearrange my bookshelves…frequently.

Every few months I have to change it up. Currently it’s arranged by author.

bookstacks

6. I blog because I have a horrible memory.

I’ve been guilty of checking out a book from the library twice because I hadn’t realized that I had already read it. So blogging and reviewing books helps me better keep track of my book tendencies.

7. I didn’t read the first Harry Potter book until after the movie.

hp

8. See the picture below? My nose was made for such places.

I’m a book smeller, I simply cannot be stopped. I have this copy of Wuthering Heights that is my absolute favorite book to smell. But I do know when to say no, library books are off-limits, but smelling books in public places is okay as long as you check to make sure no one is watching (this, of course, comes with a risk).

noseinbook

9. I still haven’t seen the movies for these books and I kind of don’t want to.

bookmovies

10. I own five copies of Pride and Prejudice.

Okay, so it’s technically six, if you count the huge Jane Austen book I have that includes all her novels. I just don’t know how to stop and I don’t think I want to!

P&P

31 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Blogging Confessions

  1. I love this list!!! I love to smell books also. No shame in not seeing those movies and I too didn’t read HP until after seeing the movie.
    I want that pink P&P copy. Where’d you get it? I’ve got 4 or 5 I think. I’ll post them when we do the Austin August read. Yay!!!

    Like

  2. Wonderful list! I love library sales too! I tend to try and hold onto whatever cash I have in anticipation for the library sale as well.
    I wish I would stop and finish writing a review before I start a new book. I really need to try harder to do something like this.
    And yay! I am a book-smeller too. I love it.
    (And I love all those covers of P&P!)

    Like

  3. All of those receipts!! πŸ˜€ Is there a reason why?? Or is that a silly question?? I couldn’t do number 2 if I tried, I will rate it on GRs but can’t write reviews straight away. I love #4 – I’d be leaving with multiple bags! And #10, I love the Barnes and Noble covers and the drop caps covers. I’m hoping I’ll find a classic I love enough to have multiple copies πŸ™‚

    My TTT

    Like

  4. OMG i do the same with my library receipts, i have a cute gift bag where i keep all of them! Whenever i own books and they change covers for a new edition, or for paperback, i always want to buy it. And sometimes i do, and then I end up having double of the same book.

    Like

  5. Great list! I’m bad about keeping all my library receipts. I was glad when my library changed to a checkout system where you can choose not to get a receipt. It was getting out of control. I think having the money on hand for the library sale is brilliant! I always forget it’s happening until it happens and then it’s too late.

    Like

  6. I love smelling books! Going into a used book store is like heaven to me. Haha. Sadly, though, I STILL haven’t read the Harry Potter series. I have them all but I’ve never read them.

    Like

      • I know! I started reading the first one when I was in like the 4th or 5th grade but I didn’t like it for some reason so I never finished it. I had a really short attention span when I was a kid, though, and I didn’t really like middle-grade books back then.

        Like

  7. I also have a problem with rearranging my bookshelf. It’s kind of like how some people clean when they’re stressed out or bored. Currently, my books are in alphabetical by author’s last name. I think next I’ll try organizing them by series names or genre.

    I still haven’t read the Harry Potter series, and I don’t think I’m ever going to.

    See my response here: http://writingmylegacy.net/2014/07/08/top-ten-tuesday-7-bookish-blogging-confessions/

    Like

  8. I think your #3 confession would make a lot of authors very happy πŸ™‚ And it’s really helpful for them when people pre-order. It’s great of you, by the way! πŸ™‚ I have poor memory so blogging also helps me deal with my memory issues LOL πŸ™‚ I can keep track of the books I love, what I thought of it, and how I rated it. Thanks for sharing and for stopping by.

    Like

  9. You can NEVER have too many copies of P&P…on my last count I have three, one being this little gem of a book that has a cloth type cover, gilded edges, attached ribbon bookmark and fits in the palm of my hand. I cherish that little baby!

    Like

  10. Pingback: Sharing the Bloggy Love <3 |

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

