The Friday 56, #13: The Fault in Our Stars

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.

*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it.

*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

The Fault in Our Stars by John Green

“Girls think they’re only allowed to wear dresses on formal occasions, but I like a woman who says, you know, I’m going over to see a boy who is having a nervous breakdown, a boy whose connection to the sense of sight itself is tenuous, and gosh dang it, I am going to wear a dress for him.”

Having just reread The Fault in Our Stars by John Green and with the movie release today, I thought I’d spotlight this powerful novel.

From my review:

“Hazel Grace Lancaster is dying. Diagnosed with Stage IV thyroid cancer that has spread to her lungs, Hazel has spent the last three years of her life accepting that her death is imminent, it isn’t a matter of if but when. Hazel is forced to attend Support Group with other Cancer Kids, but the group does little to impede her growing depression (a side effect of dying), then Augustus Waters shows up. Unabashedly flirtatious, Augustus breathes new life into Hazel’s world. Bonding over an obscure novel, the two of them are determined to discover the answers to the loose ends the author has left behind…”

You can find my full review here.

21 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #13: The Fault in Our Stars

  1. Somehow I still haven’t managed to get myself to read this book. I don’t know what it is but I also feel maybe it has been hyped a bit too much. Everyone loves it so much I am bound to feel like I’m missing out! I will definitely check out the movie but I don’t know whether I’ll be reading the book befor ehand! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My BB
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

  2. I started The Fault In Our Stars today. I remember reading about Hazel. I looked at John Green’s photo on the back flap. What does he have that I don’t have? He looks amazingly happy after writing such a heavy book. I wish someone would interview him. The book pulled me in immediately.

    Like

  3. So, did you go see the movie? I’m afraid I will have to wait until my daughter gets home from college to have someone go with me. I too loved the book and what a fun quote. Perhaps I need to reread the book, too before seeing the movie.

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

