Favorite Childhood Movies

favmovRecently I came across The Baby-Sitter’s Club movie on Netflix and had no choice but to watch it. Ah, the memories. So I decided it would be fun to take a look at the movies from my childhood that I remember most fondly. I tried to limit my picks to ten, but the list took on a life of its own, but I had enough self-control to cut myself off at fifteen. I must add that I experienced a good amount of nostalgia while making this list.

1. The Baby-Sitter’s Club

I remember being so happy when my grandma bought me this. And yes, even then I knew the relationship between Stacey and Luca was totally inappropriate.

2. Harriet the Spy

I actually own this movie and still love it. Harriet just got me like no other protagonist. I practically was her. I even bought those notebooks. I still buy them.

 

3. 3 Ninjas

My younger brother and I loved to watch this movie so much, I can’t count the number of times we watched it. Colt was my favorite. What can I say, I was always drawn to the troubled kid.

4. Teenage Mutant Ninja Turtles

I fear the remake. Favorite ninja turtle: Rafael, of course, he had a lot of anger in him and it just made my little heart swell.

 

5. The Sandlot

Whenever I need an instant dose of nostalgia, I look no further than The Sandlot. This movie is a classic through and through. You’re killing me, Smalls.

6. The Mighty Ducks

This is a great movie, and even though I say that about all these movies, I really mean this is a great movie. I feel inspired just thinking about it.

 

7. Now and Then

A movie focused on a group of girlfriends. Some eager to grow up, others hoping to stay a kid. I think I wore out the VHS tape this was on.

8. The Lion King
You will never convince me that there is a greater Disney movie.

 

 

9. Tom and Huck

Because my list would not be complete without a JTT movie. I had a friend who kept a picture of him under her pillow and she’d kiss it every night before bed.

10. Hocus Pocus

This movie usually comes on television around Halloween and I always end up watching it. Binx was my favorite, of course.

 

11. A Little Princess

Every little girl needs to watch this movie because every girl should know she’s a princess. That scene near the end when Sara’s shouting for her papa and being pulled away…it gets me every time.

12. The Secret Garden

I always thought Mary was a bit of a brat, but this movie had its own brand of magic.

 

13. Casper

Can I keep you?

 

 

14. Mighty Morphin Power Rangers

I played this with my neighbors all the time. Excuse me while I morph. Sabertooth Tiger.

 

15. Matilda

Because after seeing this movie I closed my eyes and tried to move objects with my mind.

 

 

 

 

 

Do you see any of your childhood favorites on my list? Share your favorites in the comment section.

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

