The Friday 56, #11: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

The Friday 56The Friday 56 is a weekly blog meme hosted by Freda’s Voice. Join in every Friday, the rules are simple.

Rules:

*Grab a book, any book.

*Turn to page 56 or 56% in your eReader.

*Find any sentence (or a few, just don’t spoil it) that grab you.

*Post it.

*Add your (url) post here in Linky. Add the post url, not your blog url. It’s that simple.

To All the Boys I've Love Before by Jenny Han

 

“We were having a teddy-bear, tea-party picnic on the back lawn with real tea and muffins. It had to be in the backyard so no one would see. I was eleven, way too old for it, and Margot was thirteen, way, way too old. I got the idea in my head because I read about it in a book. Because of Kitty I could pretend it was for her and persuade Margot into playing with us. Mommy had died the year before and ever since, Margot rarely said no to anything if it was for Kitty.”

To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han transported me back into high school, where insecurities run wild and when everything felt big for some reason. Why is that?

From my review:

“Lara Jean has only ever loved from afar. Before her mother past away, she gave her a hatbox and in this hatbox Lara Jean keeps all the goodbye letters she’s written to the boys she’s loved. She writes these notes as a cathartic way of letting go. When Lara Jean’s sister Margot goes off to college, she struggles to fill her shoes by taking care of their dad and little sister. Then Lara Jean’s secret letters are accidently mailed, throwing her love life into a chaotic mess…” Read my full review here.

 

14 thoughts on “The Friday 56, #11: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before

  1. There’s something absolutely heart-breaking about the last few lines! I have a little sister and now there is hardly nothing I wouldn’t do if it was for my sister! And your review sounds really good, on my way now to check it out! Thanks for sharing 🙂 I hope you have a great weekend!
    My Friday Memes
    Juli @ Universe in Words

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

