To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

To All the Boys I've Love Before by Jenny Han

Title: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before
Author: Jenny Han
Series: To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before, #1

Lara Jean has only ever loved from afar. Before her mother past away, she gave her a hatbox and in this hatbox Lara Jean keeps all the goodbye letters she’s written to the boys she’s loved. She writes these notes as a cathartic way of letting go. When Lara Jean’s sister Margot goes off to college, she struggles to fill her shoes by taking care of their dad and little sister. Then Lara Jean’s secret letters are accidently mailed, throwing her love life into a chaotic mess.

“It came in the mail? To your house?”
“Yeah.”
I feel faint. I actually feel faint. Please let me faint right now, because if I faint I will no longer be in this moment.

Let me just say that Lara Jean reminds me of myself in high school and for 355 pages I was Lara Jean. I cringed with her and hyperventilated, so much so that someone near me told me that I was too into my book. If they only knew! Lara Jean is dealing with a lot of insecurities, exacerbated by being in between (as she perceives) two fearless sisters. I loved the complicated relationship she has with her sister Margot, the love and tension are spot on. It was nice seeing Lara Jean change from the girl who always relied on her sister to one who could stand on her own.

Let’s talk love interests. As you may imagine having the love letters you wrote but had no intention of sending sent to the boys you once liked is mortifying. Even more mortifying is if one of those letters was written to your sister’s newly minted ex-boyfriend whose been a constant friend for years. Josh is not my favorite person for many reasons. I found him to be too soft and I have my doubts he knows exactly who he is apart from Margot. Clearly he still harbors feelings for Lara Jean’s sister and when he showed an interest in Lara Jean, it felt sort of sleazy on his part. Peter, another recipient of a love letter, was not what I expected and even though it’s easy to point out why he is not the right guy, he kind of is. Although I still have some unanswered questions regarding his relationship with his ex. But you can’t deny the guy grows on you.

I found out this book has a sequel before I started reading it, but now that I’ve finished I have a few words for the author. Jenny Han, please don’t mess with my ship. Do you know how late I stayed up reading this? And for you to end it like that? You’re cruel, I tell you. Side note: please write more about Lara Jean’s best friend Chris, she deserves more screen (page) time.

Over all, Jenny Han’s To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before was a delightful read and I am in serious need of the sequel.

Rating: 5/5

★★★★★

6 thoughts on “To All the Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han

  1. Pingback: The Friday 56, #11 | A Kernel of Nonsense

  2. I love a good sibling relationship and it sounds like this book might give me that! It also sounds like Han has tried to have a balance between family and romance. And who doesn’t love some actual character development, right? This sounds like a great book and I’m glad you enjoyed it! Let’s hope your ship survives the sequel 😉
    Juli

    Like

  3. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday, #13: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year | A Kernel of Nonsense

  4. Pingback: Book Haul: April Book Binge | A Kernel of Nonsense

  5. Pingback: P.S. I Still Love You by Jenny Han | A Kernel of Nonsense

  6. Pingback: The Friday 56, #103: P.S. I Still Love You | A Kernel of Nonsense

Share your thoughts here!

