Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read If You Like Veronica Mars

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week bloggers will list the Top Ten Books If You Like X tv show/movie/comic/play etc…(basically any sort of other entertainment). So this week I’ll be recommending books based on my love for the incomparable Veronica Mars.

Veronica Mars on Make A Gif“Veronica Mars is…smarter than me.”

“Oh you, stop it.”

Top Ten Books to Read If You Like Veronica Mars:

(In no particular order)

1. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

Class division plays a prominent role in the VM series and there’s no better commentary than The Outsiders. And the pilot references this classic: Be cool, Sodapop.

2. Gallagher Girls series by Ally Carter

I’m pretty sure Veronica would make a great spy and here we got a whole school for spies in training.

3. The Secret of the Old Clock (Nancy Drew, #1) by Carolyn Keene

One word: sleuthing.

4. Spies and Prejudice by Talia Vance

A cross between Pride and Prejudice and Veronica Mars, two of my favorite things in all the world.

5. Unspoken (The Lynburn Legacy, #1) by Sarah Rees Brennan

Because snarky protagonists just do it better and sometimes, you root for the bad boy.

6. Shug by Jenny Han

A lesser known aspect of Veronica Mars is her relationship with her alcoholic mother, something Annemarie can understand.

7. The Deadly Sister by Eliot Schrefer

There’s nothing like a murder mystery that just begs to be solved.

8. Hemlock (Hemlock, #1) by Kathleen Peacock

Living with the constant reminder of your best friend’s murder? Mac can relate.

9. Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson

Rape is a consistent theme throughout the Veronica Mars series and a topic few authors are brave enough to take on.

10. The Thousand-Dollar Tan Line (Veronica Mars, #1) by Rob Thomas and Jennifer Graham

Because can you really have too much Veronica Mars?

Any books you’d add to my list? What topic did you choose this week?

27 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Books to Read If You Like Veronica Mars

  1. I never got into Veronica Mars when it was out on tv. But man, do I love Kristen Bell!! She plays (speaks) for Anna in the animated movie Frozen too. Lol, thought I’d throw that in there! 🙂
    Great List, Especially The Outsiders, OMG! It’s been a while since I’ve read that book. Both book and movie are classics! LOVE THEM BOTH!
    Thanks for sharing 🙂 Come by and check out my TTT @Book Hangovers

    Like

  2. Hurray, a Veronica Mars fan! What a great show — I was so sad when it ended (even though I thought the 3rd season kinda sucked). Had to miss the movie when it came out, so now I’m waiting for the DVD release. Great topic, great list! And who doesn’t love a little Nancy Drew?

    Like

  3. Your list is really good. I didn’t even think of recommending a book like Speak, but it really does link to a major theme seen in VM doesn’t it? There are some books here I’ve not read and they are immediately being added to my evergrowing TBR list

    Like

  4. This is a great list, and I absolutely love Veronica Mars. I just got The Thousand Dollar Tan Line today, so I can’t wait to read it. 🙂 Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier. 🙂

    Like

  5. I’ve actually never seen Veronice Mars *hides under desk* But I’ve heard many great things! I love Jane Austen, so especially ‘Spies & Prejudice’ sounds great! I love this week’s TTT, so many fun and different lists!

    Like

  6. SO glad I found your blog via TTT! I’m a HUGE V Mars fan, so I just put all of those on my Amazon wishlist (except Speak – which I’ve read – and the V Mars book – which I own and need to read). What did you think of the V Mars movie? LOVED. EVERY. SECOND!

    Like

  7. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday, #18: Top Ten Favorite Movies or TV Shows | A Kernel of Nonsense

  8. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday: Ten Favorite TTT Topics | A Kernel of Nonsense

  9. Pingback: Monthly Wrap-Up: June ’15 | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

