Top Ten Tuesday: Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we’ll be listing the Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors In My Reading Journey (so your list could be a mix of a books that got you into reading, an author that got you into reading a genre you never thought you’d read, a book that brought you BACK into reading).

 

Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey:

 

3book

1. Bad Dreams by R.L. Stine

This is the first book I remember really getting into. It was a time of Goosebumps and Are You Afraid of the Dark? shows, when being afraid was very fun indeed. It’s probably why I enjoy a good scary movie and book.

2. Alvin Schwartz

Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, More Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark, and Scary Stories 3: More Tales to Chill Your Bones were the first books I BEGGED my parents to buy me. Having just revisited two of these books, I don’t think they would have bought them for me had they known what was inside. These were the first books that felt alive in my hands as I recited aloud every story much to the dismay of one very frightened little brother. I might be the reason he still doesn’t like scary stories.

3. The Outsiders by S.E. Hinton

The first book I read in school that I remember loving. To think that teachers actually had good books to share with their students! I did and it was thanks to this book that I was so open to the novels we were assigned to read. Stay gold, Ponyboy.

 

4book

4. Sorrows of Young Werther by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe

The first book I recall that had me bawling my eyes out, thus beginning my journey as an emotional reader. I now bawl my eyes out on a regular basis over fiction.

5. Lisa, Bright and Dark by John Neufeld

The first book I recommended to someone else. I can still smell the bookstore I bought this in. I now love recommending books.

6. J.K. Rowling

The first books I ever lost sleep over were in the Harry Potter series. I remember having to go to the bookstore the day each new book was released and texting my best friend to see if she got to so and so page yet. Harry Potter is magic and the reason I developed an insatiable hunger for books.

7. Ted Dekker

Dark, twisted, and thrilling, Ted Dekker’s books opened me up to a genre that I wasn’t too familiar with (Christian fiction) and also to books about serial killers which had my family looking at me strangely for a while. I still enjoy a good serial killer book and do not shy away from darker fiction.

 

3book2

8. Daughter of the Forest by Juliet Marillier

And thus began my love for the fantasy genre, but no one does it better than Juliet Marillier. One of my favorite authors, I’m always amazed by her ability to make me disappear completely into a book.

9. Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen

After 200 years this book still speaks to readers and after several readings, it still speaks to me. It is a constant reminder that new books are not always the best, that classics are classics for a reason and they should never be dismissed.

10. A Wrinkle in Time by Madeleine L’Engle

Just because you’re a grown up, doesn’t mean you can’t read a good children’s book. A Wrinkle in Time taught me this and so I never shy away from a children’s book just because it’s a children’s book.

 

What are your Top Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey?

12 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Ten “Gateway” Books/Authors in My Reading Journey

  1. The Outsiders is one of those books that I was supposed to read in HS and somehow skated by without reading it… someday I plan to read the books that my teachers thought were worth teaching.
    Thanks for stopping by my blog, happy reading!

    Like

  2. This is fantastic! I also grew up with the Scary Stories in the Dark collection and loved those!! LOL. A Wrinkle in Time is on my list too and I love the cover of Pride and Prejudice you included. I like Ted Dekker’s books, but haven’t read that one on your list!

    Like

  3. Oh my goodness! I totally forgot about that Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark book. I remember checking it out from the library so many times, my mom bought me my own copy. I still have it somewhere!
    Great list! Love it!

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

