Defy by Sara B. Larson

Defy by Sara B. Larson

Title: Defy
Author: Sarah B. Larson
Series: Defy, #1

After her parents are murdered, Alexa and her brother Marcel enlist in King Hector’s army. Having to disguise herself as a boy Alexa, known as Alex, quickly rises in rank in Prince Damien’s personal guard. The war between King Hector’s Antion and the neighboring kingdom of Blevon comes to a head when Prince Damien is abducted along with Alexa and her fellow guard Rylan. Secrets are swirling around her and when Alexa’s secret is revealed, she finds herself drawn to both Prince Damien and her old friend Rylan.

“The blackness of the night was like a living thing, breathing in hope and expelling terror. As I stood next to his body, the darkness took the shape of death, reaching, grasping for him. I was helpless to stop him from leaving me.”

Alexa was utterly intolerable as a protagonist. I couldn’t believe how many times a guy would look at her and she would either be fantasizing about falling into his arms or blushing like she’d never been in the presence of a guy before. Then there were the times when it was completely inappropriate for her to be reflecting on either Prince Damien or Rylan. It went a little something like this: “Oh, we’ve been captured! But how handsome Prince Damien looks! I’m in utter pain over his beauty!”

Maybe I’m being a little unfair, but I could not help reading this book in my head with enough melodrama to last anyone a lifetime. The love triangle in no way resonated with me and I could not understand how quickly Alexa and Prince Damien’s relationship progressed. I couldn’t even figure out why she like him so much. Yes, he had rock hard abs, but what else was there? Sure, you can appreciate it, but to be taken in so rapidly was ridiculous. I wish Alexa was stronger, but she just seemed completely dominated by her feelings for her two love interests.

I think this book would have been so much better without the superficial romance. Most books these days are written with the intention of writing a trilogy and because of this, I think authors can afford to take romances slower. When it’s too rushed, it feels fake and lack of build up leaves me apathetic toward the characters or story.

Rating: 1/5

4 thoughts on “Defy by Sara B. Larson

  1. My housemate read this book and had a similar response, so I appreciate your review! I just saw a preview of one of your past posts, and see that you have reviewed Blythewood, which is on my TBR shelf. 🙂

    Like

  2. I dislike when a story chokes on overstated romance. I’ve been reading way too many books lately with love triangles, especially ones with a friend who sits on the sidelines while his/her love interest gets spirited away by a stranger.
    Reading the comment above, I’m curious about Blythewood now. I’ve never heard of it; must investigate.
    Thanks for the review.

    Like

  3. I’m sorry you didn’t enjoy this book, I have yet to read it but i’m not sure I will now. I have nominated you for The Liebster Award 🙂 Find out more on my blog post 🙂

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sisterhood of the World Bloggers Award | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

