Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

Top Ten TuesdayTop Ten Tuesday is an original blog meme hosted by The Broke and the Bookish. This week we will be listing the Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List. From stalking authors to tackling a personally difficult book, the possibilities are endless.

 

Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List:

 

1. Reading at least 60 new books every year.

My Goodreads Reading Challenge this year is 75 books, but I find myself wanting to reread a great many books which don’t count toward this goal. Next year and the subsequent years I plan on lowering this total to accommodate my desire to revisit old favorites.

2. Reading Listening to an audio book.

It’s true, I’ve never listened to an audio book before, mostly because my mind tends to wander when other people are talking…I’m just kidding.

3. Spending an entire month with Harry Potter.

That means no new books, including library books…*gasp* From The Sorcerer’s Stone to The Deathly Hallows, my month will be solely focused on rereading the entire series. It probably won’t take me a month, but I thought I’d just round up.

4. Rereading Pride and Prejudice every year.

I tend to hyperventilate whenever someone asks me what my favorite book is because I love too many to pick only one, but if I had to pick one based on the number of times I’ve read it, it would be Jane Austen’s Pride and Prejudice. I’m actually rereading it now and it gets better every time I dive into it. So every year starting from now on, I will be revisiting this favorite.

5. Discovering whether or not I really hate Charlotte Brontë‘s Jane Eyre.

Remember those books you were forced to read when you were in high school and you hated them? Well, I really enjoyed the books I read in high school, with one exception. I read Jane Eyre when I was fifteen-years-old, many years ago (how many, I decline to admit), and loathed it with a passion. I still feel the distant memory of this passion, but since so many years have gone by, I can’t for the life me tell you why I hated the book so much. So to satisfy my curiosity, I plan to one day reread this book and see if those youthful hostilities still exist.

6. Reading more classic literature.

There are so many authors I haven’t had the pleasure of reading yet: Charles Dickens, Ernest Hemingway, Virginia Woolf, Flannery O’Connor, Toni Morrison, Aldous Huxley, J.R.R. Tolkien, Leo Tolstoy, and still many others.

7. Finding Maggie Stiefvater and demanding she tell me where the real Gansey is.

I mean meeting Maggie Stiefvater and inquiring on whom her character Richard Gansey III from The Raven Cycle series is based.

8. Owning a house with a room devoted entirely and only and completely to books.

Maybe a little something like this:

Beauty and the Beast Library

Too much? Nonsense.

9. Marrying a fellow bookworm who can help me fill this room with books.

Together we can raise are children with an insatiable craving for books.

10. Writing my own book.

There are literally dozens of ideas bouncing around in my head constantly, both new and old. Writer’s Block and I are old pals, however, so I’m really going to have to ditch her to accomplish this.

 

So what’s on your Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List?

17 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday: Top Ten Things on My Bookish Bucket List

  1. I don’t do audio books either. I have trouble focusing. I did listen to one with my girls once, and I liked it. Maybe that’s something I should ponder more… 🙂 Loved finding your blog.

    Like

  2. I love your list! I think re-reading Pride and Prejudice is an excellent resolution–I should add that to mine. I’ll be interested to see what you think when you re-read Jane Eyre. I love #9 too! 😀

    Like

  3. I LOVE YOUR LIST. We totally ARE kindred spirits with #8. And…*shudders* Jane Eyre? I stopped reading it (well, I was listening to it on audio) because I was getting traumatised! It should really be titled, Jane Eyre: Child Abuse and Mental Suffering. Gah. It’s been, like 4 years, so maybe I should try it again, someday… Audio books are really cool. I do a fair bit of crafty stuff, so I like listening while, you know, I cut up books and fold them into paper cranes.

    Like

  4. I love your list! I tried to read Jane Eyre when I was about fifteen too, and absolutely hated it. I don’t think I made it past the first two chapters. It wasn’t until I got to university and had to study it for class that I realised how much I liked it.
    I really liked #8 as well. I’ve wanted a library just like that ever since the first time I saw that movie. 🙂

    Like

  5. Your List sounds really great! That library would be a complete dream come true, one can never have too many books. Jane Eyre was one of my mom’s favorite books and when I first read it I hated it with a passion, but a couple years later, I definitely enjoy it more! I wish the best of luck to you for #10. Writer’s Block sucks but you can overcome it!!!

    Like

  6. I’ve only listened to two audio books at the moment, both works from one of my favorite authors, Courtney Milan, and narrated by the amazing Ms. Landor. And it was a really exciting experience. I think Beast’s library is the one to beat in terms of standards when it comes to libraries. LOL 🙂 Thanks for dropping by my TTT post 🙂

    Like

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

