Burn Bright by Bethany Frenette

Burn Bright by Bethany Frenette

Title: Burn Bright
Author: Bethany Frenette
Series: Dark Star, #2

In Bethany Frenette’s first novel Dark Star, Audrey Whitticomb learned of the Beneath and the demons, known as Harrowers, that inhabit the desolate realm. Her mother, Morning Star, is tasked with fighting the strongest of these fiends who are capable of crossing over into our world. Discovering a hidden power inside her, Audrey was able to thwart the plans of the Harrower Patrick Tigue.

In Burn Bright, a new enemy has emerged, a powerful Harrower who’s disguised herself as the young Susannah. She seeks the Remnant, the Kin girl with the power to open portals, allowing the inhabitants of Beneath free access to our world. Now neutral Harrowers, those living peacefully with humans, are disappearing and Guardians across the city are being attacked. To make matters worse, a mysterious Guardian has arrived with a vengeful purpose and the link between Audrey and her Guardian Leon has gone awry. As the Guardians struggle to stop Susannah from finding the Remnant, Audrey finds herself getting closer to the truth, which is exactly what Susannah is counting on.

“I landed hard. The impact reverberated through me, even as Susannah jerked me back to my feet, turning me around to face her. Her grip was so tight on my wrist I feared she’d crush the bones. Her other hand went to my neck, squeezing–and then she lifted me, held me above her as I choked and struggled.”

One of my favorite adult characters in young adult fiction is Audrey’s mother Lucy. In a genre where adults are increasingly absent or clueless, it’s refreshing to read a book where adults are actually involved. Lucy is passionate, fierce, and sometimes very vulnerable. She is an intricate part of Audrey’s life and you can see why she inspires her daughter.

I was glad to hear more about Tink, Audrey’s boy-crazy friend, who I was pleased to discover is much more than the shallow girl she pretends to me. Frenette contrasts these two girls without belittling one or the other because of their differing personalities.

I mentioned Lucy’s fierceness earlier and it would be unfair of me if I didn’t mention the same fierceness in her daughter Audrey. This girl is extremely driven and throws caution to the wind in most situations, which can get her into a lot of trouble but I think I’d like her less if she wasn’t so audacious. More important is her refusal to let other people dictate her life, her personality is too strong and the need to find her own answers makes it impossible for her to simply accept what others tell her.

Rating: 5/5

★★★★★

One thought on “Burn Bright by Bethany Frenette

  1. Pingback: Top Ten Tuesday, #13: Top Ten Books I’ve Read This Year | A Kernel of Nonsense

I'd love to hear from you. Share your thoughts here!

